South African Team Announced for World Para Athletics Championships | SASCOC - SASCOC

South African Team Announced for World Para Athletics Championships

A squad of 35 athletes and officials will fly South Africa’s flag high at this year’s World Para Athletics Championships to be held in Dubai from 7 – 15 November 2019.

The team is a great blend of experienced athletes who have performed well at the highest level in different international para events.

The last World Championships were held in 2017 in London where South Africa finished 10th on the medal table with 15 medals.

Ntando Mahlangu will be one of the dominant members of the team and other experienced athletes include: Zanele Situ, Anrune Weyers, Charl Du Toit and Hilton Langenhoven.

These championships are key for athletes in trying to obtain slots for next year’s Tokyo Paralympic Games. Any athlete achieving a top 4 or better finish will qualify one slot.

SASCOC President, MR Gideon Sam wished the team well, “South Africa has always excelled at both the Paralympics and IPC Championships in the previous years.”

“I’m confident that the selected team is a strong team that will perform exceptionally and maintain our name on the international map. And seeing this is an important event to qualify athletes to obtain slots for the Tokyo Paralympic Games, we can only wish our athletes the very best of luck at these important games,” concluded Mr Sam.

A big thank you is extended to our partners, Toyota, CitiBank, National Lotteries Commission and the Department of Sports, Arts and Culture whose backing is assisting this team to participate at the renowned event.

The full team is as follows:

Anrune Weyers Female
Simone Kruger Female
Ntombizanele Situ Female
Louzanne Coetzee Female
Sheryl James Female
Johanna Pretorius Female
Liezel Gouws Female
Mandilene Hoffmann Female
Ntando Mahlangu Male
Reinhardt Hamman Male
Charl Du Toit Male
Ndodomzi Ntutu Male
Mpumelelo Mhlongo Male
Dyan Buis Male
Hilton Langenhoven Male
Hermanus Blom Male
Brandon Beack Male
Kerwin Noemdo Male
Jaco Smit Male
Rouvaun Wallace Male
Union Sekailwe Male
Obed Lekhehle Male
Daniel Du Plessis Male
Chane Hendriks Male
Tyrone Pillay Male
Estian Badenhorst Male
Neels Matthyser Male
Mark Lewis Male
Suzanne Ferreira Female
Daniel Damons Male
Raymond Julius Male
Cathy Landsberg Female
Crossby Mulungwana Male
Siya Kunene Male
Sandya Silal Female


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *