Three SA women's rugby squads named | SASCOC - SASCOC

Three SA women’s rugby squads named


Eight players with national experience in both the 15s and sevens formats were named in the 28-member SA Select Women’s training squad for a 12-day training camp starting in Stellenbosch on Friday, as the side prepare to travel to England in October for the first national tour since the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2014.

The camp, which will be hosted at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport, will run until 11 October, with a squad of 26 players departing for London that evening where they will play two matches against the England Academy team and one against the British Army.

SA Rugby’s acting high performance manager, Louis Koen, will take charge of the camp until the SA Select head and assistant coaches are confirmed.

Capped Springbok Women’s Sevens players Zinhle Ndawonde and Rights Mkhari (in main picture), who recently returned from Tunisia, where they assisted in the team qualification for the Rugby World Cup Sevens and SA Select Women’s Sevens player Unathi Mali were included in the group.

The squad also includes a handful of Springbok Women’s 15-a-side players who participated in the 2014 World Cup in France, namely Asithandile Ntoyanto, Nosiphiwo Goda, Thantaswa Macingwana, Nolusindiso Booi and Celeste Adonis.

The remainder of the squad is made up of players who starred in the SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial Competition and Youth Training Centre (YTC) players.

Another capped Bok Women’s Sevens player, Eloise Webb (back), and 2014 World Cup fullback Tayla Kinsey (hip) were forced to withdraw from the squad due to injury.

Given their success in the Women’s Interprovincial series this season, champions Western Province, and runners-up Border account for the most players in the squad (10 each).

SA Rugby also named a squad of 29 U18 players and 28 U20 players who will participate in a training camp in Paarl from 1-6 October, with Western Province and Border also making up the biggest complement of players. The camp will be guided by the SA Rugby Women’s Youth Training Centre (YTC) coaches.

‘We are excited to reintroduce 15-a-side rugby on a national level after turning our focus to development through the introduction of the Youth Training Centres in the last few years,’ said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.

‘It’s clear in both of these squads that quality players are coming through the YTC structures, thanks to the skills programmes, improved fitness and conditioning and regular training sessions.

‘That said, we are realistic about our expectations in what will mark the first 15-a-side women’s tour in three years against quality opposition. I wish the players luck as they stake a claim for places in the squad.’

SA Select Women’s training squad (in alphabetical order): Celeste Adonis (lock), Western Province, Nolusindiso Booi (lock), Border, Thuliswa Capa (prop), Border, Xolelwa Diliza (hooker), Border, Lusanda Dumke (flank), Border, Annique Geswind (hooker), Western Province, Nosiphiwo Goda (wing), Border, Aseza Hele (No 8), Eastern Province, Felicia Jacobs (scrumhalf), Western Province, Abigail Jantjies (hooker), Golden Lions, Charmaine Kayser (No 8), Western Province, Amy-Kay Klaasen (lock), Western Province, Babalwa Latsha (prop), Western Province, Thantaswa Macingwane (prop), Border, Kamohele Makoele (flank), Free State, Ncediswa Mahijani (prop), Western Province, Unathi Mali (wing), Border, Vuyolwethu Maqholo (flyhalf), Western Province
Sinazo Mcatshulwa (flank), Western Province, Rights Mkhari (lock), Limpopo Blue Bulls, Katlego Moremi (prop), Blue Bulls, Zinhle Ndawonde (centre), KZN, Aphiwe Ngwevu (centre), Border, Asithandile Ntoyanto (prop), Border, Moyagabo Ramoraswi (wing), Limpopo Blue Bulls, Snenhlanhla Shozi (fullback), Border, Buhlebethu Sonamzi (flank), Eastern Province, Thandi Xwetu (hooker), Western Province

SA Rugby High Performance U18 squad (in alphabetical order): Sihle Bokoda (scrumhalf), SWD, Roseline Botes (hooker), Western Province, Saniliswe Charlie (prop), Eastern Province, Marizelle Cornelius (centre), Blue Bulls, Edwaline Dickson (No 8), SWD, Antoneca Hannies (fullback), SWD, Anelca Hess (flyhalf), Bolandm Olwethu Kasibe (lock), Eastern Province, Andonesia Kietas (prop), SWD, Caryn Klaasen (wing), Western Province, Margareth Lamani (No 8), Boland , Nqatyiswa Lufutha (wing), Border, Nothando Majozi (scrumhalf), KZN, Caroline Maluleke (prop), Blue Bulls, Mihlali Mgweba (lock), Border, Annelisiwe Mxabo (flank), Western Province, Sakhe Mxhalisi (wing), Border, Zoe Naude (flyhalf), Western Province, Thembeka Ndlovu (prop), KZN, Sune Pawson (flyhalf), Blue Bulls, Caronne Petersen (flank), Western Province, Chuma Qawe (centre), Border, Chumisa Qawe (centre), Border, Shoneez Sabatini (lock), Western Province, Keshia Stuurman (flank), Boland, Eldorette Tieties (hooker), Boland, Janome van Slicht (scrumhalf), Boland, Maxine Valentine (flank), Boland, Connor-Leigh Witbooi (centre), Boland

SA Rugby High Performance U20 squad (in alphabetical order): Abigail Beukes (prop), Western Province, Laverne Coenraad (wing), Eastern Province, Tyler-Jane Coleman (prop), KZN, Micaela Deeb (flank), Griquas, Nellodene De Wee (centre), Griquas, Maxine Engelbrecht (No 8), Griquas, Shaunique Hess (centre), Western Province, Alana-Lee Horne (fullback), Western Province, Sibabalwe Klaas (centre), Eastern Province, Zandile Patricia Khumalo (No 8), Golden Lions, Zandile Maduna (fullback), Blue Bulls, Gift Magagula (hooker), Pumas, Lerato Makua (flank), Blue Bulls, Ayanda Malinga (prop), Pumas, Anastacia Mashiane (flank), Limpopo Blue Bulls, Nompumelelo Mathe (lock), KZN, Monica Mazibukwana (hooker), Eastern Province, Bianca Meyer (centre), Blue Bulls, Buhle Mrkabalala (centre), Leopards, Lihle Mzimkhulu (flank), Western Province, Nolukholo Mzwali (prop), Eastern Province, Simamnkele Namba (fullback), Border, Owethu Nayiphi (hooker), Border, Siphumle Ngqose (No 8), Western Province, Yonela Ngxingolo (prop), Border, Siyanda Pikoli (lock), Eastern Province, Leandi Smith (wing), Western Province, Mpho Swarts (lock), Griffons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *