Team SA named for the 2016 Region 5 U20 Games in Angola | SASCOC - SASCOC

Team SA named for the 2016 Region 5 U20 Games in Angola

SASCOC has announced the names of Team South Africa that will be participating at the 2016 Africa Union Sports Council Region 5 Games, previously known as Zone VI Games, in Luanda, Angola from 9-19 December. This is the seventh version of the games.

A squad of 119 athletes from South Africa will be taking part in a total of eight sports in the Region 5 Games this year, namely: athletics (incl. visually impaired), boxing, football, gymnastics, judo, netball, swimming and tennis.

The bulk of the squad will come from athletics, football, netball and swimming.

South Africa have in previous years dominated these Under 20 Games between the Region 5 countries, which include Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Mozambique, Lesotho and Swaziland.

The games, held bi-annually on a rotational basis, were last presented in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe in 2014 and Team South Africa did us proud by retaining the first position on the medals table, bringing home a total of 123 medals.

‘Some people think that games of this type aren’t particularly relevant but we at SASCOC put plenty of emphasis on the AUS Region 5 Games,’ said SASCOC president Gideon Sam.

‘It’s at games like these where Rio Olympic medallists Wayde van Niekerk and Luvo Manyonga first made their mark on the continental scene, back in Swaziland six years ago. Who knows, we could be looking at more future Olympians in Luanda.’

SASCOC CEO Tubby Reddy added: ‘As we conclude yet another busy and successful sporting year, we wish our youth the best of luck at the Region 5 Games. Team South Africa has a long track record of excellent performance at these games, so we hope they will rise to the occasion in Angola and retain the first position as has been the norm.’

The full team to represent Team South Africa at the Region 5 Games in Luanda, Angola is:


Retshidisitswe Mlenga                             Malesela Senona                              Sokwakhana Zazini

Dais Malebana                                           Silusapho Dingiswayo                     Thapelo Legodi

Linford Maree                                           Kyle Blignaut                                     Morne Brandon

Naas Marais                                               Francois Jacobs                                 Hanru Colling

Marli Viljoen                                              Lethabo Makgoga                             Velmein Hendriks

Carien Stander                                            Liza Kellerman                                   Tshegofatso Sethlakgoe

Rogail Joseph                                             Yvonne Robson                                   Renate van Tonder

Tharina van der Walt                               Leandri Lamprecht                             Mizaan Viljoen

Dora Mngwevu (Manager)

Sabata Khumalo (Manager/Coach)   Elroy Dixon (Coach)                                   Eben Vermaas   (Coach)



Regan Wilson                                      Mogamat Peterson                           Sibongiseni Ntuthu

Sinelethu Nyanda                               Monique Hendricks                           Avrin Wessels

Charleton Schroeder                          (Guide Runner for Peterson)

Ricardo Gatyana                                 (Guide Runner for Nyanda)

Duane Fortuin                                      (Guide Runner for Hendricks)

Wade Fraser                                          (Coach)

Elizabeth Shikwambana                 (Manager/Coach)



Siyakholwa Khuse                              Talent Baloyi                                          Ricardo Malajika

Mxolisi Zuma                                       Athenkosi Plaatjies                              Uyanda Nogogo

Mlandeli Mnqibisa (Coach)          Johannes Britz (Manager/Coach)



Mapaseka Mpuru                               Mologadi Maluleka                           Betty Malella

Chamelle Wiltshire                           Caryn van Reyneveldt                      Drishana Pillay

Tiisetso Makhubela                          Bongeka Gamede                               Antonia Maponya

Zimasa Dekeda                                  Linda Motlhalo                                 Thalea Smidt

Karabo Makhurubetshi                    Kaylyn Jordaan                                 Lelona Daweti

Khanya Xesi                                       Karabo Dhlamini                               Anelisa Ndyebi

Sheryl Botes      (Head Coach)    Anna Monate (Ass. Coach / Team Manager)

Busisiwe Khumalo (Goalkeeper Coach)



Gaofenngwe Tlatsana                     Junior Motladile                                  Francois Breytenbach

Thato Dibe                                       Alice Hawksley                                     Kirsten Davies

Asithandile Nama

Lebogang Ramokopelwa (Coach)                                 Andre van der Merwe (Manager/Coach)



Mosa Thetsane                                       Regan Wilson                                        Byron Grobler

Vernon Henry                                        Ludwig Cross                                          Juan de Bruin

Jasmine Martin                                     Chante Labuschagne

Preston Davids (Coach)                       M van Wezel (Manager/Coach)



Bianca Blom                                       Danelle Lochner                                  Jasmine Ziegelmeier

Jessica du Plessis                               Nicole Amiras                                       Nonsikelelo Mazibuko

Nozipho Ntshagase                           Simone Rabie                                        Sinethemba Mkhize

Zandri Vermeulen                              Bongise Wete

Jenny Van Dyk (Coach)                     Dumisani Chauke (Team Manager)



Hanim Abrahams              Kiyana Hannah Batleson                           Kate Beavon

Kristin Bellingan               Jessica Rebecca Beukes                             Lesley Chelsea Blignaut

Khwezi Duma                      Bathandwa Dyanti                                     Mikayla Eagles

Tarryn Els                            Ude Fuchs                                                   Mohammed Gamieldien

Rais Hassim                         Brendan Levy                                             Hannah Mclean-Leonard

Darren Minnies                    Cole Poovan                                              Duncan Roger Rudolph

Timothy Sates                     Keanu Silent                                               Jade Joy Simons

Daniel Roy Swanepoel    Nathania van Niekerk                                   Kyle Van Niekerk

Joshua Walters                   Jessica Whelan                                            Reece WhItaker

Rafael Zasas                        Khanya Jack                                                  Mpumelelo Mosue

Junaid Scheepers               Michael Houlie

Theo Verster (Coach)        Csanad Feldhausz (Coach)                          Chenelle Van Wyk (Coach)

Keenen Riffel (Manager/Coach)



Richard Luvuyo Thongoana          Phillip Barry Henning                       Minette Van Vreden

Imaan Hassim

Thabo Matlhaela (Manager/Coach)


Issued on: Monday 14 November 2016

One Comment

  1. Carol-Ann Rattey Stiekema

    November 15, 2016 at 2:36 am

    Well done Asti ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *