SA U17 side beaten by Brazil in BRICS final | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA U17 side beaten by Brazil in BRICS final

Brazil are the inaugural winners of the BRICS U17 Football Tournament after they defeated the South African U17s 5-1 in the final at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa, India.
In the first encounter between the two nations on 11 October at the Bambolim Stadium, Brazil had emerged 3-0 winners.
With temperatures hovering around 32 degrees Celsius, both teams were expected to struggle but the Brazilians were cruising.
It could perhaps have been a different story had Sthembiso Kurata tapped the ball into the gaping net in the 20th minute with Brazil’s goalkeeper, Arthur Gazze de Souza, nowhere in sight – but Kurata hit the crossbar.
Sensing danger, the South Americans caught Amajimbos on a break and punished them with a goal from Paulo Henrique Sampaio Filho in the 24th minute – with the ball going under South Africa’s goal-minder Glen Baadjies.
Jose de Oliveira Junior then doubled Brazil’s lead 11 minutes later with a well-taken lob from a distance that flew over Baadjies, who was off his line.
Brazil’s third goal could have been avoided had South Africa taken the ball out of play when one of their own players – Luke Fleurs – was down and needed medical attention. Instead Amajimbos pushed forward and were dispossessed. The counter-attack was quick and South Africa conceded a penalty when a defender was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box.
Brazil captain Moura de Olivieira made no mistake from the spot kick to give the South Americans a 3-0 lead five minutes from the break – and the match was almost over as a contest.
Disaster struck for Amajimbos just two minutes after the restart when defender Lethabo Mazibuko was red-carded for a dangerous lunge on a Brazilian player – Mazibuko had just replaced fellow defender Luke Fleurs at the start of the second stanza, and South Africa were left with 10 men.
Brazil kept pushing forward looking for more goals and nearly got the fourth in the 53rd minute after a goalmouth scramble, but Sampaio Filho hit the crossbar.
The South Americans did get their fourth in the 62nd minute after the South African defence was dismantled, and captain Moura de Oliveira grabbed his second of the day.
Ten minutes from full time, second-half substitute Correa dos Santos beat Baadjies in the Amajimbos goal but was denied by the crossbar.
S’miso Bophela managed to pull one back for South Africa in the 89th minute when his shot went through the hands of De Souza in the Brazilian goal.
But the celebrations had barely died down when Alan de Souza Guimaraes grabbed Brazil’s fifth in referee’s optional time with a cracker of a short from just outside the box.
Earlier in the day Russia came from behind to defeat China 2-1 and claim third spot, while the hosts ended fifth.

This is how they lined up:
 Arthur Gazze de Souza (GK), Matheus Bungenstab Stocki, Kevin Kesley de Souza, Marcos Antonio Silva Santos, Wesley David de Oliveira Andrade, Vitor Eduardo da Silva Matos, Lucas Halter, Alan de Souza Guimares, Paulo Henrique Sampaio Filho, Jose Paixao de Oliveira Junior, Victor Gabriel Moura de Oliveira (C).
 Gabriel Nascimento Resende Brazao (GK), Leonardo Sulzbach (GK), Lucas Oliveira Rosa, Matheus dos Santos Miranda, Caio Lopes da Costa Schoell, Leonardo Alves Chu Franco, Lincoln Correa dos Santos, Marco Antonio de Oliveira Coelho, Brenner Souza da Silva, Weverson Moreira da Costa, Victor Bobsin Pereira, Rodrigo Nestor Bertalia.

South Africa:
 Glen Baadjies, Mswati Mavuso, Luke Fleurs (Lethabo Mazibuko), Nkanyiso Shinga (Thabo Mokoena), Mjabulise Mkhize, Sthembiso Kurata, Tyreese Pillay, Luke le Roux (C), S’miso Bophela, Sechaba Mokoena, Ndamulelo Radzilani (Mpho Mahlangu).
 Tshepo Mohui (GK), Rhuwano Wynne (GK), Sabelo Radebe, Jaqueel de Jager, Lethabo Mazibuko, Kabelo Makola, Mpho Mahlangu, Sifundo Nkosi, Thabo Mokoena.
Suspended (two yellow cards): Lyle Foster.


  1. Bernice Bezuidenhout

    October 17, 2016 at 7:26 am

    Congrats on making the final!

  2. Brent Webber

    October 17, 2016 at 7:57 am

    Oros Man Mbalalula….just like banana banana…where is the transformation in this team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *