SA's 'Supapiet' misses out as swimmer Dias wins Laureus Award | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA’s ‘Supapiet’ misses out as swimmer Dias wins Laureus Award

South Africa’s Pieter du Preez lost out to Brazilian swimmer Daniel Dias at the Laureus Sports awards in Berlin, Germany on Monday night.
The man they call ‘Supapiet’, is a quadriplegic Paralympian athlete and holds numerous bike and athletics world records. He’s also completed an Iron Man event.
Gauteng’s Du Preez tweeted from the awards: ‘Incredible eve @LaureusSport, overwhelming support frm SA! Next time guys! Got 2 meet this legend @rudishadavid,’ after meeting the Kenyan Olympic 800m champion.
Dias is a previous winner of this Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award, having won in 2009 and 2013.
Novak Djokovic won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the second year running.
The tennis ace beat out a host of stars from across the world of sport including Stephan Curry, Lewis Hamilton, Usain Bolt, Jordan Spieth and Lionel Messi.
Laureus Academy Member Boris Becker, now Djokovic’s coach, believed the Serb deserved the award. ‘He had a great year again. He’s played 88 matches, has won 82, He won three out of the four Grand Slams, reached the final of the French Open, he’s won seven other tournaments. Very few players, if any, had a year like that.”
Serena Williams won the World Sportswoman of the Year award while Dan Carter of the All Blacks won the Comeback of the Year Award.
Carter was ecstatic with his award. ‘It’s nice to be recognised for the year I had in 2015. It was a very special year, not only for me, but also for the All Blacks and to be a part of that was amazing,’ said the former New Zealand pivot.
The prestigious Laureus World Team of the Year went to the All Black for their exploits in winning the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Laureus Winners 2016
Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams
Laureus Spirit of Sport Award: Johan Cruyff
Laureus World Team of the Year: All Blacks
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Jordan Spieth
Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Dan Carter
Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Nikki Lauda
Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Daniel Dias
Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jan Frodeno

One Comment

  1. Liezel van Rensburg

    April 19, 2016 at 8:28 am

    Same time next time @supapiet #ProudlySA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *