Scotsman leads the way at SA Amateur Champs | SASCOC - SASCOC

Scotsman leads the way at SA Amateur Champs

Scotland’s Rory Franssen led Sunday’s first round of qualifying for this week’s Sanlam South African Amateur Championship in his first tournament appearance in South Africa.
Franssen opened with an eight-under-par 64 at George Golf Club on Sunday to lead the 36-hole stroke play qualifying by three strokes.
South Africa’s Aubrey Beckley continued his good form with a 67 to join Scot Craig Ross as Franssen’s nearest challengers.
Beckley comes into this tournament full of confidence following his five-stroke victory on an impressive 20 under par in last week’s Sanlam Cape Province Open at Kingswood Golf Estate.
Ross was tied for the lead with three holes to play before making a double bogey on 16 and a bogey on 18. George local Franklin Manchest is in a group on four under.
Although the stroke play qualifying is really not an accurate reflection of what could materialise in the main match play section of the tournament, the early presence of the Scots at the top of the leaderboard won’t go unnoticed by the rest of the field.
Scottish golfers have won three of the last five Sanlam SA Amateur Championships, and last year they achieved a double when Greig Marchbank won the Proudfoot Trophy awarded to the winner of the 36-hole stroke play qualifying and countryman Daniel Young took the Sanlam SA Amateur title.
‘Scotland has a good record out here and I’m just trying to live up to it really and learn from the other players in the Scottish team,’ said Franssen, who as a member of the Scottish Under-18 squad is making his debut on South African fairways.
‘The standard here is great. There are so many under par scores and it’s a great learning experience for me.’
Ross comes into this tournament having finished tied third in the recent African Amateur Championship at Leopard Creek, and says he’s confident about his chances this week.
‘I’m hitting the ball really well and I’m looking forward to the match play. The Scottish golfers just seem to really like this event. The course is great and very different to what we’re used to. But I think what makes this such a good grounding out here is that the course conditions out on Tour are pretty much just like this. You also get out here and see the scores are low and know you’ll have to shoot some low ones if you want to win.’

Picture of Franssen courtesy of Pieter Els

64 – Rory Franssen SCO
67 – Aubrey Beckley; Craig Ross SCO
68 – Luca Filippi; Sentanio Minnie; Luke Mayo; Paul Kinnear ENG; Franklin Manchest
69 – Kyle Klopper; Kyle McClatchie; Noel Anderson; Altin van der Merwe; Calum Fyfe SCO; Albert Venter; James du Preez; Attie van Wyk
70 – Dylan Naidoo; Luke Trocado; Nicholas Mitchell; Yashab Chandra IND; Loris Schuepbach SUI; Emilio Pera; Pietie Loubser; Neal Woernhard SUI; Steven le Roux
71 – Marco Steyn; Matt Saulez; Dylan Mostert; Jamie Bower ENG; Brandon Cloete; Gregory Mckay; Kieran Vincent ZIM; David Mcintyre; Tristen Strydom; Scott Gibson SCO; David Amm ZIM; Ruhan van Dijk
72 – Nic Elliot ENG; Herman Loubser; Christo (Jnr) Lamprecht; Gerlou Roux; Philip Kruse; Veer Ahlawat IND; Quintin Wilsnach; David Meyers; J P le Roux; Fezekile Kana; Michael Pfeifer; Sandy Scott SCO; Paul Boshoff; Terence Coutinho
73 – Louis Albertse; Lwazi Gqira; Michael Harradine SUI; Angus Ellis-Cole; Darin de Smidt; Kyle Barker; Deon Germishuys; Heinrich Frylinck; Jason Smith; Andre Nel; Hendrikus Stoop; Liam Mc Ilroy; Hennie O’Kennedy; Garrick Higgo; Divan Marais; Gerhard Faber
74 – Theunie Bezuidenhout; Richard Maree; Carlo O’Reilly; Christian Basson; Therion Nel; Michael Sherriff; Jade Buitendag; Evance Vukeya
75 – Allan Toy; Sean Bradley; Alistair Snowdon; Tristan Kempenaar; Marco Loubser; Jovan Rebula; Craig Kieswetter; Henri van der Walt; Dalan Tait; Alex van Wyk; Cameron Moralee; Keegan Steyn; Alfie Plant ENG
76 – Nicholas Souranis; Andre van Heerden (Jnr); Mandla Dlamini; Jean-Pierre Meyer; Carlo Heunis; Jamie Savage SCO; Calvin Ferreira; Jandre Fullard; Hanno Besselaar; Heinrich Penzhorn; Robert Foley SUI; Anuerin Gounden; Tom Watson; Matthew Hands; Stephen Morrison; Will Stogdale
77 – Neswill Croy; Malcolm Mitchell; Julien Sale; James Pennington; Jason Rossiter; Shaun Bernstein; Wilco Nienaber; Caylum Boon; Riaan Coetzee; Cole Cruickshank; Siyanda Mwandla
78 – Valerian Huelin SUI; Byron Sampson; Tyrone Gibb; Elmo Barnard; Andrew Plint; Andrew van der Knaap; Clayton Mansfield; Werner Welgemoed; James Tyler
79 – Brandon Gildenhuys; Carl Nebbeling; Jason Ackerman; Henk Geldenhuys
80 – Melvin D Geldenhuys; Burt Gildenhuys; Phillip Swanepoel; Zabastian de Jager; Erhard Lambrechts; Johannes Petrus Strydom
81 – Fritz Orren; Nico du Buisson; Lukas Malan; Nicholaus Frade; Gabriel Shikodi; Marcus (Jnr) Smal
82 – Crismar Engelbrecht; Gert Olivier; Cameron Walker
83 – NJ van der Walt; Samarth Dwivedi IND; Paul Keyser; Pieter (Jnr) Zietsman; Luke Woods
84 – Likius Nande; Matthew Kiewitz
87 – Stefanus Bonifatius

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *