Triple gold for Baxter at SA Grand Prix in PE | SASCOC - SASCOC

Triple gold for Baxter at SA Grand Prix in PE

Jarryd Baxter’s bid to be part of Team SA at this year’s Rio Olympics saw him winning an additional three gold medals as the SA Swimming Grand Prix’s Port Elizabeth leg wrapped up at the Newton Park pool on Sunday.
Baxter won the 200-metre individual medley in 2min 05.57sec, the 200m backstroke in 2:04.73 and the 200m freestyle in 1:53.33.
Brent Szurdoki claimed the silver in the freestyle and backstroke events in 1:53.60 and 2:05.76, while Dayne Odendaal finished with a second place in the medley in 2:08.46. The bronze in the medley went to Neil Fair in 2:10.57, the backstroke to Liam Fourie in 2:06.54 and the freestyle to Kyle van Niekerk in 1:54.00
Szurdoki also finished first in the 1500m freestyle in 15:32.91, while Van Niekerk managed a second place finish in the 50m freestyle in 23.92, ahead of Nico Meyer in 23.93 and behind Douglas Erasmus on 23.34.
Meyer was over the moon with his gold-medal winning performance in the 100m butterfly in 54.78, with Alard Basson in second in 55.31 and Brendan Levy in third in 56.22.
Fourie won his second bronze in the 50m backstroke in 30.65, behind Ricky Ellis and Neil de Villiers in 26.35 and 26.41 respectively
The trio of Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett and Hanim Abrahams dominated the 50 and 200m breaststroke races when they claimed the first three positions, with Schoenmaker touching the wall ahead of Corbett and Abrahams in both events.
Pretoria’s Schoenmaker clocked 32.45 and 2:29.38 to Corbett’s 32.71 and 2:36.48 and Abrahams’ 34.01 and 2:39.65 respectively.
Adding two gold medals to her already impressive tally, Jessica Ashley-Cooper grabbed the 100m backstroke and 50m butterfly titles in 1:02.21 and 27.76 respectively.
Mariella Venter and Samantha Labuschagne won silver and bronze in the 100m backstroke in 1:02.89 and 1:07.60, while Erin Gallagher and Emma Chelius finished second and third in the butterfly in 28.70 and 29.20 respectively.
Gallagher and Chelius also made their way to the medal podium in second and third place in the 100m freestyle in 57.59 and 59.13, with the gold going to Karin Prinsloo in 56.30.
Rising star Kate Beavon was victorious on two occasions in the 400m individual medley in 5:10.00 and the 400m freestyle in 4:25.27, while the silver in the medley event was claimed by Abrahams in 5:20.60 and Kristin Bellingham took home the second prize in the freestyle in 4:25.32. with Abi Meder in third in 4:33.74.
In the 100m breaststroke, 2014 Youth Olympian Jarred Crous scooped gold in 1:02.08, ahead of Mikey Houlie in 1:04.79 and Alaric Basson in 1:05.12.
The final leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix will be held in Stellenbosch from 26-28 February before Mzansi’s hopefuls head to Durban for the official Olympic Qualifiers at the SA National Championships in April.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *