Hoffman hurries to victory in shortened Cycle Tour | SASCOC - SASCOC

Hoffman hurries to victory in shortened Cycle Tour

Team South Africa’s Commonwealth Games rider, Nolan Hoffman defended his Cape Town Cycle Tour title in superb fashion on Sunday.
The Franschhoek cyclist raced over the finish line in a time of one hour, one minute and 49 seconds (01:01:49) in this year’s 47km ‘Show You Care Solidarity Ride.’
Hoffman won as thousands of riders dressed in red to support those affected by the tragic fires burning on the mountains around Cape Town over the past week.
Sapa reports that the shortened circular route was a celebration of Cape Town’s fighting spirit and a salute to the Volunteer Wildfire Services, Sanparks Fire Fighting initiatives and other volunteers for their heroic efforts.
Hoffman held off stiff competition from silver medallist, Tyler Day (Team Westvaal) and third placed, Brenton Jones (Team Drapac).
International professional cyclists, Team Etixx-Quick Step’s Mark Cavendish and main lead-out man, Mark Renshaw, competed in their first South African race, but could not outsprint Hoffman.
Ecstatic to hold off competition from top international and local riders to secure his second consecutive Cycle Tour win, Hoffman praised his ‘flawless’ team.
‘The week before the race, we dissected every kilometre from Hospital Bend so that we were well prepared,’ Hoffman said afterwards. ‘Today we bided our time and stayed close to the front throughout the entire route.’
‘It was only 47km, but it was the hardest 47km. There was no place to recover, and before I knew it, there was another hill. The downhills were fast, and I was really concerned about Hospital Bend because I knew it was going to make for a really fast finish.
‘I’m proud of the way the guys rode today – they stuck to the tactic and executed it to perfection. My teammates were fantastic.’
Meanwhile, Lynette Burger, former All Africa Games time trial champion, clinched the number one spot in the ladies category for the first time.

1 Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu) 1hr 01min 49sec
2 Tyler Day (Team Westvaal) 01:01:49
3 Brenton Jones (Team Drapac) 01:01:49
4 Mark Renshaw (Team Etixx-Quick Step) 01:01:49
5 Nino Schurter (Team Scott Sports) 01:01:50

1 Lynette Burger (Team Activate Demacon) 01:17:52
2 Cherise Stander (Team RECM) 01:17:52
3 Maroesjka Matthee (Team BestMed ASG) 01:17:52
4 Lise Olivier 01:17:53
5 Yolandi du Toit 01:17:53

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *