SA's 2014 sports stars crowned at gala evening | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA’s 2014 sports stars crowned at gala evening

It was a night of glitz and razzmatazz as the who’s who of the South African sport and social scene descended on the South African Sport Awards held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Sunday.
The Department of Sport and Recreation, together with partners SASCOC, SABC, National Lotteries Board, Supersport and the adjudication panel, announced over 15 winners in 19 categories.
Banyana Banyana football centurion Portia Modise walked away with the main prize of SA Sports Star of the Year, as voted by the public, while Olympic and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Chad Le Clos and Ashleigh Pasio were crowned Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year, respectively.
Said Minister of Sport and Recreation, Mr. Fikile Mbalula: “I have never made an excuse for mediocrity. I will never shy away from pulling an extravaganza to celebrate those who emulate the winning spirit of South Africa.  And today we have pulled-out all stops to do just that – not just to celebrate these stars but to encourage others to remain patriotic and represent this country.”
Para-cyclist and Paralympian legend , Ernst Van Dyk was named Sportsman of the Year with Disability, while the Sportswoman of the Year with Disability went to fellow Western Cape para-cyclist Justien Asher.
The awards were not just about those who win gold, but those who displayed a heart of gold were duly honoured. And so the Volunteer of the Year went to Sandile Mqadi while the Recreational Body of the Year category went to Sport for Social Change Network.
A lot has been said about the adjudication of the awards, and last week Minister Fikile Mbalula hinted at the possibility of reviewing the judging process. However, what cannot be faulted is the sheer camaraderie and ‘humdinger’ of an event this always is.

List of the 2014 SA Sport Awards winners in their categories:
•    Administrator of the Year – Nokuzola Patience Thamae
•    Sportsman of the Year – Chad Le Clos
•    Sportsman of the Year with Disability – Ernst Van Dyk
•    Sportswoman of the Year – Ashleigh Pasio
•    Sportswoman of the Year with Disability – Justine Asher
•    Team of the Year – U/19 Cricket
•    Newcomer of the Year – Gezelle Magerman
•    Coach of the Year – Ephraim Shakes Mashaba
•    Volunteer of the Year – Sandile Mqadi
•    Indigenous Games of the Year – Ncuva Limpopo
•    Recreation Body of the Year – Sport for Social Change Network
•    Photographer of the Year – Reg Caldecott
•    Journalist of the Year – Mathews  Mpete
•    School Team of the Year – Vorentoe High School
•    Developing School Team of the Year – Oudtshoorn School of Skills
•    Federation of the Year – Triathlon South Africa


  1. Gerry Baker

    December 1, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Lawn Bowls contibuted 25% of the Gold Medals in CWG Delhi – this year contributed a staggering 38% or 5 out of the countries 13 Gold Medals won in Glasgow and still cant win the Team of the Year event – something is wrong with your adjudication process – but i suppose it is not a big deal as it is a second tier sport !!

  2. Trevor Davis

    December 1, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    Gerry. Second tier or not look at the results::::??? and the possibility of medals and then at some of the first tier sports have numerous events to get medals Bowls in the entire games can only get total of 8 gold between mens and ladies. Athletics can get so many more yet dont achieve the same number of medals as Bowls. Yet recognition is just not forth comming and just wont. It stsys very very sad####

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *