Hockey sides named for Team SA at Commonwealth Games | SASCOC - SASCOC

Hockey sides named for Team SA at Commonwealth Games

Team South Africa’s men’s and women’s hockey squads for this year’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland were announced on Tuesday, 17 June after the completion of their World Cup event in the Netherlands.

Following last week’s announcement of an initial squad of 155 of the country’s premier athletes, a group of 32 hockey players has been named.

Says SASCOC CEO, Tubby Reddy: ÔÇ£The announcement of the hockey team for both women and men’s hockey brings us to the final team that is going to participate in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

ÔÇ£The women’s hockey team were ranked in ninth place at the World Cup event in the Netherlands, while the men’s team finished in┬á12th position. I hope this was a good test of the competition that the teams will face in Glasgow and I’m positive they will perform to the best of their abilities.ÔÇØ

Both teams were in action at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India where the men were placed sixth after losing to Pakistan in the play-off whilst the women were ranked fourth after going down to England.

Women’s team:
Quanita Bobbs, Tarryn Bright, Dirkie Chamberlain, Bernadette Coston, Marsha Cox, Sulette Damons, Illse Davids, Lisa-Marie Deetlefs, Lilian Du Plessis, Celia Evans, Lenise Marais, Jade Mayne, Shelley Russell, Kathleen Taylor, Nicolene Terblanche, Anelle Van Deventer.

Management: Manager: Sheldon Rostron, Coaches: Giles Bonnet, Kurt Cerfontyne, Video Analyst: Wayne Hendricks

Men’s Team

Andrew Cronje, Jean-Pierre De Voux, Timothy Drummond, Jethro Eustice, Rhett Halkett, Julian Hykes, Lloyd Jones, Robin Jones, Ignatuis Malgraff, Clinton Panther, Taine Paton, Wade Paton, Erasmus Pieterse, Jonathan Robinson, Austin Smith, Lungile Tsolekile

Management: Manager: Martin Van Staden, Coaches: Fabion Gregory, Moabi Malebye, Video Analyst: Adrian Carolan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *