Cycling champions crowned at nationals in KZN | SASCOC - SASCOC

Cycling champions crowned at nationals in KZN

New national champions have been crowned at the 2014 SA Track and Para-cycling Championships, currently underway at the Cyril Geoghegan Cycle Stadium in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal.

Covering all the age group disciplines, the five-day event sees the best of South African track cycling take to the outdoor concrete track, close to Durban’s Golden Mile.

The Individual Pursuit events kicked off the championships proceedings, with several new champions donning the green and gold striped national champion jersey. Morne van Niekerk (Panda Abantu Academy) and Maroesjka Matthee (Intellibus) won the Elite titles in the 4000 and 3000-metre Pursuits respectively.

Van Niekerk said: ‘It’s been a lot of hard work, which has paid off. My coach, Sheldon, and I have targeted this event since October last year and we worked very hard. All the road tours I was able to do have helped me with my endurance and I’m very happy to have won here tonight.’

Theuns van der Bank (Yorkshire Giants) claimed the silver medal, whilst Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu) settled for bronze. Ilze Bole claimed the Elite Women’s silver medal, with Dalena Nel claiming the bronze medal.

The Junior Men 3000m title went to Stefan de Bod, whilst Monique Gerber (Bestmed ASG) won the Junior Women’s 2000m. Joshua Buchel recorded the second fastest time to claim the silver medal, with Waylin Young claiming bronze. Chante van der Merwe (Hartebeespoort) won the silver medal with Kayla Edwards taking the bronze medal.

Europcar’s Dylan Le Roux stood on the top step of the podium when he won the u16 Men’s Pursuit in 2 minutes 37.36 seconds. Bradley Gouveris finished second, with Joshua van Wyk (Europcar) earning bronze.

Team Abantu cemented their dominance in track cycling as they claimed victory in the Team Pursuit on Wednesday night. James Perry, David Maree, Kellan Gouveris and Nolan Hoffman put on a solid performance in their heat, claiming the gold medals. Silver went to Morne van Niekerk, Joshua Buchel, Steven van Heerden and Dirkie Nel, with Giant CVT’s Theuns van der Bank, Evan Carstens, Graeme Ockhuis and Peter Lambert winning the bronze medals.

Track cycling legend and seven-time South African Sprint champion Willie Marx (Eden Cycling Club) won a calculated Sprint race in the 70+ category against local riders Albert Fryer (Jowetts) second, and Adrian Schoeman (Mr Price) third.

Multiple Champion Wendell Bole (LPCC) was the fastest qualifier in the 200m Sprint in the 60-64 category, and a new national record was set by Myrtle Hagedorn (City Cycling Club) in the 200m Sprint qualifier in the Women’s 50-54 category.

In the picture above, London 2012 Olympian Bernard Esterhuizen accelerates ahead of Chris Mlotshwa in the Elite Men Sprint semi-finals. Picture: Mylene Paynter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *