Scotland are up next for SA hockey women | SASCOC - SASCOC

Scotland are up next for SA hockey women

Hard on the heels of their 2-1 series victory over Belgium in Cape Town, the Investec South Africa women’s hockey team take on Scotland in five Test matches from Friday to next Wednesday at Tshwane University of Technology hockey stadium in Pretoria.

With the need to strengthen the player base, several of South Africa’s most seasoned players have been left out of this leg of head coach Giles Bonnet’s 2014 campaign that has as its highlights the World Cup and Commonwealth Games, reports Jon Cook.

ÔÇ£This stage is to be in two parts,ÔÇØ said Bonnet. ÔÇ£The first four days, and two unofficial matches, are a selection for the five-Test series that follows. In turn, the players who perform in the five Test matches against Scotland will give themselves a good chance of being selected for the Argentina tour that follows Scotland.ÔÇØ

Directly after the fifth Test against the Scots next Wednesday, 19 February, the South Africans fly out to Argentina to play a five-Test series against the world’s second-ranked team in Mar del Plata before returning home on 2 March.

SA shot-stopper Phume Mbande will take on Scotland.

Meanwhile, Scotland head coach Gordon Shepherd will be without Ali Bell, Amy Gibson, Nikki Kidd, Emily Maguire and Morag McLellan, who are unavailable due to commitments with the Great Britain squad.

This should offset SA being without triple Olympians in captain Marsha Cox and world record Test match goalscorer Pietie Coetzee, as well as the likes of double Olympians Tarryn Bright, Shelley Russell and Lenise Marais.

Shepherd said he is looking forward to seeing his side, ÔÇ£tested against a top world nation. However, I have no doubt we will test them in equal measure and I’m looking forward to the matches.ÔÇØ


Investec South Africa: Phume Mbande, Anelle van Deventer, Hanli Hattingh, Nicolene Terblanche, Erin Hunter (subject to medical clearance), Kaila Flemming, Christine Roos, Kelly Madsen, Illse Davids, Jade Mayne, Toni Marks, Tarryn Glasby, (subject to medical clearance), Candice Manuel, Sam Prost, Tanya Britz, Izelle Lategan, Lisa Deetlefs, Sulette Damons, Lilian du Plessis, Celia Evans, Kathleen Taylor and Marcelle Manson (both only the last 4 Test matches), Carmen Smith (awaiting clearance from university).

Scotland: Jennifer Eadie, Nicola Cochrane, Vikki Bunce, Becky Ward, Amy Brodie, Catriona Ralph, Samantha Judge, Sarah Robertson, Holly Cram, Linda Clement, Ailsa Wyllie, Kareena Marshall, Leigh Fawcett, Rebecca Merchant, Susan McGilveray, Nicola Lloyd, Maisie Morris, Alison Howie, Nicola Skrastin, Aileen Davis, Kirsten McIntosh, Robyn Collins, Heather Elder.

Unofficial test matches (both at HPC, Pretoria) –
Match 1: Tuesday, 11 Feb (7pm);
Match 2: Wednesday, 12 Feb (3pm).

Official Test matches (all at TUT, Pretoria)
1st Test: Friday, 14 Feb (6.30pm)
2nd Test: Saturday, 15 Feb (3pm)
3rd Test: Sunday 16 Feb (3pm)
4th Test: Tuesday, 18Feb (6.30pm)
5th Test: Wednesday, 19 Feb (1.30pm).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *