Robinsons rule the roost at Youth Nationals | SASCOC - SASCOC

Robinsons rule the roost at Youth Nationals

A total of seven new national champions were crowned as the MSC SA Sailing Youth Nationals came to an end at Midmar Dam in KwaZulu-Natal over the weekend.

Once again the Robinson siblings proved their credentials out on the water. Ryan and Michaela Robinson powered to a world Mirror title in Ireland earlier this year. But last weekend, even though they paired up with different partners, they still managed to finish on top of the podium in their respective classes.

Michaela claimed victory in the Mirror class alongside BYC clubmate, Victoria Matter, ahead of the Izivungu pair of Sabatha Gayeka and Lebogana January. And Ryan claimed top spot in the 420 Fleet along with his World Youth Championships partner Dominic van der Walt.

Another of South Africa’s world champions Georgou Divaris of Knysna Yacht Club, who earlier this year took gold at the RS Tera World Championships, was also back to his winning ways ÔÇô this time in the Laser 4.7 Fleet, finishing ahead of IYC’s Calvin Gibbs.

Other classes saw Theewater Sports Club’s Arin Long taking Optimist honours while Point Yacht Club’s Taalia Naidoo took top spot in the RS Tera Class. Royal Natal Yacht Club’s Chad Stevenson took the RS Tera Pro title, and top spot in the Laser Radial fleet went to Marcello Marcia from Victoria Lake Club in Germiston.

Milnerton’s Jason Gray claimed victory in the Dabchick fleet while Tammy Holden and Michael Dickinson (MBYBC) finished out in front of the 29er fleet and Brandon Wijtenburg and Todd Fisher (SBYC) took victory in the Hobie 16 fleet.

Picture: Bart Fokkens


Mirror Class
1. Michaela Robinson and Victoria Matter (BYC)
2. Sabatha Gayeka and Lebogana January (Izivungu)
3. Alexander Ham and Ella Thorburn (PSC)

Optimist Class
1. Arin Long (TSC)
2 . Alec Webb (MAC)
3. Benji Daniel (PYC)

RS Tera Class
1. Taalia Naidoo (PYC)
2. Markos Divaris (GLYC)
3. Robyn Hellstrom  (GLYC)

RS Tera Pro
1. Chad Stevenson (RNYC)
2. Jethro Brophy-Tintinger (PYC)
3. Javier Arabonis (IYC)

Course 2

Laser 4.7 Fleet
1. Georgou Divaris (KYC)
2. Calvin Gibbs (IYC)
3. James Hellstrom (GLYC)

Laser Radial Fleet
1. Marcello Marcia (VLC)
2. Trent Bingham (PYC)
3. Michael McNeil (PYC)

Dabchick Fleet
1. Jason Gray (MAC)
2. Daniel London (FBYC)
3. Euan Hurter (PYC)

420 Fleet
1. Ryan Robinson and Dominic van der Walt (BYC)
2. Zak Bester and Jaco Bester (VLC)
3. Anke van Rooyen and Lea Smit (MBYBC

29er Fleet
1. Tammy Holden and Michael Dickinson (MBYBC)
2. David Wilson and Alex Burger (ZVYC)
3. Luuk Beekman and Ryan Barnardo (MAC)

Hobie 16 Fleet
1. Brandon Wijtenburg and Todd Fisher (SBYC)
2. Kevin Fourie and Stephanie Goodyear (FHBSC)
3. Bradley Levin and Vihan Feldmann (SYC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *