2013 SA Sports Awards nominees announced | SASCOC - SASCOC

2013 SA Sports Awards nominees announced

The list of nominees for the 2013 South African Sports Awards have been announced at Gallagher Estate in Midrand on Wednesday.

The SA Sports Awards are a partnership between the Department of Sport and Recreation, SASCOC and the SABC and feature more than 19 categories of sporting excellence.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at Sun City on 17 November, 2013

The full list of categories and nominations are:


Administrator of The Year
Fran Hilton-Smith
Jurie Roux
Mimi Mthethwa

Sportsman of The Year
Itumeleng Khune
Hashim Amla
Cameron Van der Burgh

Sportsman of The Year with Disability
Ernst van Dyk
Hilton Langenhoven
Lucas Sithole

Sportswoman of The Year
Mapaseka Makhanya
Lee-Anne Pace
Mandisa Williams

Sportswoman of The Year with Disability
Ilse Hayes
Kgothatso Montjane
Roxy Burns


Team of The Year
SA Rugby
The Proteas
Kaizer Chiefs

Newcomer of The Year
Bianca Buitendag
Thato Tsomole
Giulio Zorzi

Coach of The Year
Heyneke Meyer
Holger Losch
Graham Hill

Volunteer of The Year
Ernesta Strydom
Sondisa Magajana
Zakes Mkhize

Indigenous Games of The Year
Simphiwe Maphumulo
Immeraan Malgas
Masego Mogapi

Photographer of The Year
Wessel Oosthuizen
Lefty Shivambu
Duif du Toit

Journalist of The Year
Jonathan Cook
Ramatsiyi Moholoa
Cheryl Roberts


Sports Star of The Year
Itumeleng Khune
Chad le Clos
Lucas Sithole
Hashim Amla
Mapaseka Makhanya

School Team of The Year
Rosina Sedibane School
Sol Plaatjie High
Waterkloof High

Developing School Team of The Year
Daniye Primary School
Stellenzicht Secondary School
Khayelitsha U18 Boys Hockey Team

Federation of the Year
Cycling South Africa
South Africa Hockey Association
Swimming South Africa

Recreational Bodies
Sibusiso Vilane
702 Walk the Talk

Sports fans can vote for their favourite stars on *120*8883# and on Twitter on razzmatazz#


  1. nonhlanhla mathe

    November 6, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    I really thing this is a good idea that we have sports awards in South Africa like any other awards and we even recognise schools for the good work they are doing and rewarding them, but I guess we forgot to nominate Senzo Meyiwa. He shows improvement and deserves to be in one of the categories.I really appreciate what you are doing. It is remarkable. Thank you.

  2. Nkosinathi Ngwenya

    November 7, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Sportsman of the Year – Itumeleng Khune.

  3. Nkosinathi Ngwenya

    November 7, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Hashim Amla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *