SA hockey squads named for Cup of Nations | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA hockey squads named for Cup of Nations

The names of the players entrusted with ensuring South Africa qualify for the 2014 World Cup next year have been released.

South Africa contest the Africa Cup of Nations in Nairobi, Kenya from 26 September to 5 October and the winners will book their place at The Hague, Netherlands in May/June next year.

The SA men and women are the defending champions, having won the last event in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe in September 2011.

Egypt, SA’s biggest opponents for Africa supremacy in the men’s tournament, have withdrawn due to the political unrest in their country. There will be six men’s teams at Nairobi’s City Park Stadium, South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Seychelles, Namibia and hosts Kenya.

The six women’s teams who have entered are South Africa, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Namibia and Tanzania.

Western Province’s star goalkeeper Jacque le Roux and defender Matt Guise-Brown return to the SA men’s team.

Beijing 2008 Olympian striker Geoff Abbott makes a return to the side after a lengthy absence, while London 2012 Olympics defender Andrew Cronje is back after a year out of the international game.

The new caps are SA Under-21 defenders Dylan Swanepoel of Stellenbosch and Mohamed Mea of Durban.

Six players who represented the SA men’s team at the World League semi-finals in Malaysia in July have been omitted for various reasons. They are goalkeeper Gowan Jones (KZN Raiders), defenders Francois Pretorius (Northern Blues) and Lance Louw (Southern Gauteng) and strikers Craig Haley (Western Province) and Miguel da Graca (SG).

And six players who represented the Investec South Africa women’s team at the Investec World League semi-finals in London in June have been omitted for various reasons, including the unavailable Southern Gauteng superstars Pietie Coetzee and captain Marsha Cox.

Other players left out are goalkeeper Phume Mbande of Northern Blues, defender Nicolene Terblanche (NB), midfielder Tarryn Bright (Western Province) and striker Dirkie Chamberlain (NB).

World Cup 2010 goalkeeper Hanli Hattingh is back, while London 2012 Olympians Bernie Coston and Lisa Deetlefs return after injury. Christine Roos and Celia Evans are also back in the team, while Kaila Flemming makes her debut.


Men: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Jacque le Roux (Western Province), Andrew Cronje (WP, Rhett Halkett (vice-capt, WP), Matt Guise-Brown (Northern Blues), Jethro Eustice (SG), Dylan Swanepoel (SA U21), Mohamed Mea (SA U21), Austin Smith (capt, WP),  Jonty Robinson (NB), Clint Panther (SG), Wade Paton (KZN Raiders), Tim Drummond (KZN Raiders), Taine Paton (KZN Raiders), Julian Hykes (SG), Geoff Abbott (KZN Raiders), Pierre de Voux (WP), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP)

Women: Sanani Mangisa (Southern Gauteng), Hanli Hattingh (Western Province), Lenise Marais (KZN Raiders), Marcelle Keet (Border), Lisa Deetlefs (SG)), Illse Davids (Western Province), Celia Evans (North West), Shelley Russell (WP), Kaila Flemming (SG), Quanita Bobbs (WP), Sulette Damons (North West), Christine Roos (NB), Jade Mayne (WP), Bernie Coston (SG), Tanya Britz (Free State), Lilian du Plessis (NB), Izelle Lategan (FS), Kelly Madsen (KZN Raiders).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *