Unbeaten WP and Southern Gauteng into hockey semi-finals | SASCOC - SASCOC

Unbeaten WP and Southern Gauteng into hockey semi-finals

The stage has been set for two exciting semi-finals in the top-tier A Section of the SA Women’s Interprovincial Hockey Tournament after Thursday’s final round of Pool matches in Port Elizabeth.

In Friday’s first semi-final unbeaten Pool B winners Western Province will play North West at 6pm, while the second semi-final features unbeaten defending champions and Pool A winners Southern Gauteng against Northern Blues at 8pm.

The pivotal encounter Thursday was the Pool B clash between Free State and Northern Blues. Free State had to win in order to reach the semi-finals while a draw was good enough for the Blues. And what a match it turned out to be.

The Blues eventually prevailed 3-2 but one had to feel for the very young Bloemfontein-based side who gave everything in their bid to remain in medal contention.

In the other A Section matches WP edged winless KZN Coastal Raiders 2-1, Southerns were given a proper run for their money by Border before eventually prevailing 3-2, and North West were held to a 0-0 draw by a winless but much-improved Eastern Province.

Friday’s B Section semi-finals at KC March Astro will see Pool B winners KZN Inland versus Pool A runners-up EP Settlers at 10am. Pool B runners-up Mpumalanga will meet Pool A winners Witwatersrand at 2pm.ÔÇ¿ÔÇ¿Saturday’s A Section gold medal match for the right to be crowned national champions is at 8pm with the bronze medal match at 6pm, while the B Section final is at 2pm, all at the KC March Astro.

The SA Men’s Interprovincial Tournament flicks off in Cape Town on Sunday.


A Section: Northern Blues 3 Free State 2; Western Province 2 KZN Coastal Raiders 1; Southern Gauteng 3 Border 2; North West 0 Eastern Province 0
B Section: SA Country Districts A 6 Southern Cape 0; KZN Inland 7 Mpumalanga 2; EP Settlers 1 SA Country Districts A 0; KZN Mynahs 2  SA Country Districts B 0; Witwatersrand 4 EP Settlers 2


(KC March Astro unless stated)
A Section (bottom four play-offs): Eastern Province vs Free State (12pm); Border vs KZN Coastal Raiders (2pm)

A Section semi-finals: Western Province vs North West (6pm); Southern Gauteng vs Northern Blues (8pm)

B Section (bottom four playoffs): Southern Cape vs KZN Mynahs (8am); SA Country Districts A vs SA Country Districts B (Westering High School 2pm)

B Section semi-finals: KZN Inland vs EP Settlers/Witwatersrand (10 am); Witwatersrand/EP Settlers vs Mpumalanga (2 pm)

(All played three)

Pool A: 1 Southern Gauteng 9 points; 2 North West 4 pts; 3 Border 3 pts; 4 Eastern Province 1 pt

Pool B: 1 WP 9 pts; 2 Northern Blues 6 pts; 3 Free State 3 pts; 4 KZN Coastal Raiders 0 pts

(All played three)

Pool A: 1 Witwatersrand 9 pts; 2 EP Settlers 6 pts; 3 SA Country Districts A 3 pts; 4 Southern Cape 0 pts

Pool B:1 KZN Inland 9 pts; 2 Mpumalanga 4 pts; 3 KZN Mynahs 3 pts; 4 SA Country Districts B 1 pts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *