Olympian Nhlapo spearheads SA BMX team | SASCOC - SASCOC

Olympian Nhlapo spearheads SA BMX team

South African BMX riders are raring to go at next week’s 2013 UCI BMX World Championships taking place in Auckland, New Zealand.

The four-day event, from 24-28 July sees South Africa having qualified two elite men, two junior elite men and one elite woman, as per As per the new UCI qualifying criteria for the elite category,.

These are two-time Olympian Sifiso Nhlapo and Kyle Dodd in the elite men, Teagan O’Keeffe in the elite women while the Junior Elite Men will be represented by Alex Limberg and Jaden Laubscher.

Dodd, Nhlapo and O’Keeffe have been participating in the World Cups in the early season and have been fine-tuning their preparations ahead of the championship event.

For Limberg and Laubscher, they are part of the first wave of junior elites to be participating at this year’s Worlds, which will serve as a qualifier for next year’s Youth Olympic Games.

They’ve spent the past week training with National BMX Coach Jonnathan Chislett in Copenhagen, Denmark. Prior to their trip, the youngsters had never been down a Supercross start hill, although they have both competed at a World Championship event before; Limberg in the 16 Expert class and Laubscher in the 17-24 Men class. Both have taken full advantage of the Supercross facility in Denmark in preparation for the World Champs.

Chislett said, ÔÇ£Both Alex and Jaden seem really happy with their riding. Now that they have had a chance to ride the Supercross start hill and track, we can look forward to a more prepared and confident group of junior men in New Zealand.ÔÇØ

In BMX racing, privateers can race in the World Championships in the Challenge and Cruiser Categories, and a strong SA team will be vying for championship titles in Auckland.

Selected riders: Dylan Eggar, Alex Goncalves, Tyrone Johns, Kai Brett, Alex Dolman, Dylan Whittle, Connor Terblanche, Kane Herbert, Jarod Ellse, Jonnathan Chislett

Privateers: Kita Uys, Madison Holder, Paton Holder, Amber Muller, Karabo Malemela, Kaiden Keyser, Liam Terblanche, Luca Bollea, Ethan Ellse, Matthew Dinham, Travis Barrett, Ross Eastaugh, Devon De Swardt, Brandon Pratt, Chad Turck, Dirk Uys, Wayne Beadsworth, Frans De Swardt, John Barrett, Peter Eastaugh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *