Team SA named for IPC Athletics World Championships | SASCOC - SASCOC

Team SA named for IPC Athletics World Championships

SASCOC has announced the names of the team that will be participating at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships being held in Lyon, France from 19-28 July. This is the sixth IPC Athletics World Championships since inception.

A squad of 39 from South Africa will be participating in the IPC Athletics World Championships this year. These include 32 athletes (23 males and nine females), four coaches, a physiotherapist, a team manager and an assistant manager.

The team selected for France is a blend of experience and new talent with more than half of the team having worn the green and gold of Team South Africa at last year’s Paralympics in London.

Approximately 1,300 athletes from 90 countries are expected to attend the event, the first major congregation of international track and field stars following the hugely successful London 2012 Paralympics.

The South African Paralympic athletes will be competing in Lyon as they commence their preparations for the next Paralympic Games in Rio in 2016.

At the last IPC Athletics World Championships in Christchurch, New Zealand, Team South Africa ended 10th on the medals table with a total of 24 medals. The medals tally was made up of eight gold, seven silver and nine bronze.

Teboho Mokgalagadi (100, 200 metre) and Ilse Hayes (100m, long jump) won two gold medals each in Christchurch.

We at SASCOC wish the athletes all the best in their preparation for the IPC Championships. South Africa has always excelled at both the Paralympics and IPC Championships and brought many medals home previously. Consequently, we urge the team to bring more medals back home this year. SASCOC continues to offer the team undivided support to make the IPC Championships a success for the South African nation, said SASCOC CEO, Mr. Tubby Reddy.

The list of the South African athletes to sweat it out at the IPC Championships is as follows:

Men: Tsepo Bhebe, Dyan Buis, Jacques De Bruyn, Andrea Dalla Ave, Christiaan Du Plessis, Charl Du Toit, Divan Engelbrecht, Arnu Fourie, Reinhardt Hamman, Jozua Joubert, Gerrit Kruger, Hilton Langenhoven, Michael Louwrens, Denswill Maans, Teboho Mokgalagadi, Kerwin Noemdo, Jonathan Ntutu, Tyrone Pillay, Samkelo Radebe, Casper Schutte, Union Sekailwe, Zivan Smith, Fanie Van Der Merwe

Women: Louzanne Coetzee, Lizel Gouws, Ilse Hayes, Anrun Liebenberg, Juanelie Meijer, Zandile Nhlapo, Ntombizanele Situ, Chenelle Van Zyl, Rouxne Vermaak

Management team

Team manager: Neels Matthyser
Assistant Manager: Zelda Hansen
Physiotherapist: Tanya Green
Coaches: Suzanne Ferreira, Jean du Plessis, Karin Le Roux, Jacobus van Zyl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *