SA quartet qualify for World Championships in PE | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA quartet qualify for World Championships in PE

The SA National Aquatic Championships wrapped up successfully on Saturday night with four athletes making the FINA World Championships and 12 swimmers posting the World University Games qualifying times during the competition, which took place at the Newton Park Swimming Pool in Port Elizabeth.

Olympian Roland Schoeman celebrated his qualification time for Barcelona in the 50-metre freestyle when he clocked one of the fastest times this year in 21.88, followed by Reynar Wessels in 22.79 and Leith Shankland with his second World University Games qualifying time, finishing third in 22.90.

Chad le Clos added yet another World Championships qualifying time in the thrilling final of the 100m butterfly. He finished over three seconds ahead of Nico Meyer in 51.79. Meyer came in second position with a time of 55.17.

The gold in the 50m butterfly was claimed by Vanessa Mohr in 27.32, ahead of Jessica Ashley-Cooper, who added her fourth World University Games qualifying time in 27.50 and Trudi Maree her second qualifying time with the bronze in 27.56. Ashley-Cooper also posted her fifth World University Games qualifying time in the evening finals of the 200m backstroke in 2:15.24.

In the 1500m freestyle, Michelle Webber and Myles Brown swam to the gold medals in 17:02.64 and 15:28.20 respectively, with the silver going to Roxan Tammadge in 17:04.51 and Chad Ho in 15:52.75 and the bronze to Caitlin Kat in 17:06.41 and Danie Marais 16:07.52.

Tara Nicholas finished tops in the 200m breaststroke in 2:32.90 followed by Marlies Ross in 2:34.31 and Kelly Gunnell in 2:34.57.

Karin Prinsloo touched the wall in 56.25 to win the 100m freestyle title ahead of Lehesta Kemp in 57.46 and Trudi Maree in 57.82. Prinsloo was also victorious in the 200m backstroke in 2:13.37.

In the 400m individual medley, Rene Warnes grabbed the top spot in 4:51.01, followed by Jolandi Els in 4:56.33 and Marlies Ross in 4:56.51, while on the men’s side, Micheal Meyer clocked 4:19.36 to receive the gold medal, Ayrton Sweeney came second in 4:23.39 and Christoper Reid third in 4:30.74.

Darren Murray scooped the gold in the 200m backstroke with a time of 2:01.89, while the silver went to Christopher Reid in 2:02.33 and the bronze to Ricky Ellis in 2:02.97. The 200m breaststroke was won by Ayrton Sweeney with a time of 2:18.09; coming in second was Jarred Crous in 2:19.21 and third was Luke Isemonger 2:21.15.

Yvonne Smith added three gold medals to her tally in the S14-S15 200m individual medley, 50m freestyle and 50m backstroke in 2:48.05, 31.49 and 39.03 respectively. In the S1-S13 category, Tezna Abrahams came in first in 3:20.25 and third in both the 50m freestyle and 50m backstroke in 33.50 and 41.23.

Continuing his fantastic form was Craig Groenewald, winning the S14-S15 200m individual medley in 2:25.20, with the S1-S13 race going to Kevin Paul in 2:18.35. Later on in the evening finals, Paul took the bronze in the 50m freestyle and Challis Wright was over the moon with two gold medals in the 50m freestyle and 50m backstroke.

The combination of Leith Shankland, Calvyn Justus, Byron Doyle and Brendan Levy won the men’s 4 x 200m freestyle relay in 7:40.38, while Rene Warnes, Kyna Pereira, Carmel Billson and Roxane Tammadge claimed the gold on the ladies side in 8:27.23.

In the final races of the SA National Aquatic Championships, Vanessa Mohr, Karin Prinsloo, Marlies Ross and Kayla Ferreira won the 4 x 100m medley relay in 4:16.31 and Gerhard Zandberg, Nico Meyer, Jarred Crous and Caydon Muller won on the men’s side in 3:43.17.

The 15th FINA World Championships will be held in Barcelona from 19th July to 4th August, while the 27th World University Summer Games will be taking place in Kazan, Russia from 6th to 17th July 2013.

FINA World Championships Qualifying Times
SF ÔÇô Semi-Final

Cameron van der Burgh ÔÇô 100m breaststroke (SF)
Chad le Clos ÔÇô 100 and 200m butterfly
Myles Brown ÔÇô 800m freestyle
Roland Schoeman ÔÇô 50m freestyle

World University Games Qualifying Times

Caitlin Kat ÔÇô 400 and 800m freestyle
Roxan Tammadge ÔÇô 400m freestyle
Myles Brown ÔÇô 400 and 1500m freestyle
Lehesta Kemp ÔÇô 50m freestyle
Trudi Maree ÔÇô 50m freestyle and 50m butterfly
Rene Warnes ÔÇô 200m individual medley
Nico Meyer ÔÇô 50m butterfly
Giulio Zorzi ÔÇô 50m butterfly and 50m breaststroke
Jessica Ashley-Cooper ÔÇô 50m freestyle, 50, 100 and 200m backstroke and 50m butterfly
Ricky Ellis ÔÇô 50 and 100m backstroke
Michael Meyer – 200m butterfly and 200m individual medley
Leith Shankland ÔÇô 50 and 100m freestyle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *