SA trio swim to World Champs qualifying times | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA trio swim to World Champs qualifying times

SA swim stars Roland Schoeman, Chad le Clos and Cameron van der Burgh pencilled their names in on the FINA World Championships team short list after producing sparkling performances on Monday’s opening night of the SA National Aquatic Championships held at the Newton Park Swimming Pool in Port Elizabeth.

In the hotly contested 50-metre butterfly semi-final, both Roland Schoeman and Chad le Clos swam to their first World Championships Qualification Times, with Schoeman edging out Le Clos ÔÇô 23.23 seconds to 23.78. The final of the event will take place tomorrow.

Nico Meyer and Giulio Zorzi’s times of 24.64 and 24.71 in the 50m butterfly semi-final have also seen them successfully post qualification times for the 27th World University Summer Games, which will be held in Kazan, Russia from 6th to 17th July 2013.

World record holder Cameron van der Burgh was over three seconds ahead of the competition in the 100m breaststroke semi-finals, finishing first in a World Championships Qualification Time of 1:00.71 to Jared Pike’s 1:03.13. The final of the event will be held on Tuesday evening.

KZN’s Myles Brown narrowly missed out on a World Championships qualification time in the 400m freestyle final, finishing the event with a golden time of 3:49.80, just 0.25secs off the required 3:49.55. Mark Randall walked away with the silver medal in 3:57.31 and Ayrton Sweeney with the bronze in 3:58.29.

Kyna Pereira was victorious in the women’s 400m freestyle, clocking 4:17.03; while Caitlin Kat’s 4:17.39 and Roxan Tammadge’s 4:17.95 won them the silver and bronze respectively.

Brown, Kat and Tammadge were not too disappointed as they also successfully posted qualification times for the World University Games.

In the 100m butterfly semi-finals, Vanessa Mohr and Marne Erasmus qualified with the fastest times for Tuesday’s evening’s final, clocking 1:00.75 and 1:01.22 respectively, while the top spots in the 200m individual medley semi-finals went to Marlies Ross (2:18.53) and Rene Warnes. Warnes’ time of 2:19.39 is also a World University Games qualification time.

The 50m freestyle semi-final saw two great performances from Lehesta Kemp and Trudi Maree, both making it through to the final in World University Games qualification times of 26.04 and 26.11 respectively.

In the multi-disability races, the S14-S15 100m backstroke was won by Challis Wright in 1:10.86, with the silver going to Mark Roach in 1:06.30 and the bronze to Mark Groenewald in 1:11.29. Charl Bouwer claimed first position in the S1 ÔÇô S13 100m backstroke in 1:01.72 ahead of Hendri Herbst (1:16.54) and James Bezuidenhout (1:13.19).

On the women’s side, Yvonne Smith (S14) touched the wall with a fast 1:23.35 ahead of Christel Kriel (1:28.73) and Anne Swart (1:36.33) while Paralympian Shireen Sapiro (S10) won her race in 1:11.46 followed by Emily Gray in 1:18.45 and Tenza Abrahams in 1:31.53.

Karin Prinsloo, Vanessa Mohr, Lehesta Kemp and Kayla Ferreira saw off the competition in the 4 x 100m freestyle relay, winning the event in 3:52.47 while Chad le Clos, Luke Pendock, Leith Shankland and Calvyn Justus claimed the gold in their relay with a time of 3:25.14.

The second day’s heats will start at 9.30am while the finals will begin at 6pm daily.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *