Age Group swimming nationals wrap up around SA | SASCOC - SASCOC

Age Group swimming nationals wrap up around SA

It was another day of spectacular performances from South Africa’s rising talent in Newcastle, Pretoria and Oudtshoorn as the SA Level 1 Age Group Swimming Championships concluded on Sunday.

Winning a total of eight medals in the competition was Western Province’s Calvin Nigrini (12), who added a gold in the 100m butterfly and a bronze in the 50m breaststroke at the NA Smit Swimming Pool.

Rounding off their tally to six gold medals were Trisha Pollicutte (10) in the 200m backstroke and 100m butterfly as well as Louche Wiehahn (11) in the 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle.

Close behind them, with five gold medals a piece, were Jordan Humphreys (14) in the 200m backstroke and Lene Hugo (13) in the 50m freestyle, while Carlof Schwab (11) claimed his fourth in the 50m freestyle.

Finishing the event with three gold medals were Adrian Viljoen (10) and Renette Coetzee (15) in the 200m backstroke, Estiaan Terblanche (13) and Charnelle Drake (16) in the 50m breaststroke, Caitlin Engelbrecht (13) in the 100m butterfly and Amre McCallum (14), Mattieu Bettings (13) and Jess Wright (15) in the 50m freestyle.

Craig Dirksen (13) and Marinel Wegman (14) won two gold medals, adding the 200m backstroke on Sunday night, while Jesse Fuls (10), Abre Pio (16), Danelle Behm (13), Jade Clarke (14) and Michelle van Eyssen (12) scooped the 50m breaststroke and Eugene van der Merwe (10) the 50m freestyle.

In the remaining final day races, Neville Boorman (15) and Megan Eastman (13) came home with the 200m backstroke titles, Cheslin Fortes (11), Duffie Kellerman (12), AJ Dunsdon (14) and Mire Reinstorf (10) the 50m breaststroke, Ethan du Preez (9), Elmo van Olm (11), Matthew van der Heever (14), Rushen Kemp (15), Alexandra Maartens (11), Emlynn Spogter (12), Tamlyn Jarvis (14) and Sabrina de Gois (15) the 100m butterfly, with George Marais (12), Joshua Bizaare (15), Olivia Nel (10), Kayla Holtshausen (12) and Samantha Jones (14) grabbing the final 50m freestyle gold medals.

Meanwhile, at the Hillcrest Swimming Pool in Pretoria, both Ethan Spieker (10) and Dylan Steyl (15) finished the competition on a high note, bagging six gold medals in total. Spieker added the 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle, while Steyl won the 200m backstroke and 50m freestyle.

On the girls side, Carissa van Rooyen (10) and Cherne Midgley (14) did not disappoint, both bringing home a total of five gold medals. Van Rooyen added the 50m freestyle, while Midgley took the 200m backstroke and 100m butterfly.

Ending the event with three gold medals were Francois Potgieter (13) in the 200m backstroke, Riley Coltman (14) and Helena da Costa (13) in the 50m freestyle, Dune Coetzee (10) in the 100m butterfly as well as Liam O’Hara (12) and Kirsty Martiz (15) in the 50m breaststroke.

It was double victory for Zack Langridge (13) and Benjamin Hack (12) in the 50m freestyle, Kobe Ndebele (10), Kristen Hopper (12), Sthembiso Mamba (13) and Gerdus Kriel (15) in the 100m butterfly, Michael Deans (11), Jade Thokoane (14), Paul Raistrick (13), Irshaad Kara (14) and Herman Heyns (16) in the 50m breaststroke and Liam Burnett (14), with Jayde Gunther (13) winning the 200m backstroke.

The remaining final day events went to Zander Landman (9) and Helen Wertheim (16) in the 200m backstroke, Ethan Fischer (10), Ashleigh Stock (10), Hannah Riddle (11), Meagan de Souza (12) and Shazia Surtee (13) in the 50m breaststroke, Kian du Toit (12), Timothy Dolk (14), Gerdus Kriel (15), Vendela Langbjenne (11), Njabulo Tshabalala (13) and Leone Koekemoer (15) in the 100m butterfly and Michel Duarte (11), Cathrine de Klerk (11), Thalia Kofsky (12), Megan Dateline (14) and Eleni Thomadakis (15) in the 50m freestyle.

At the third venue, the Newcastle Swimming Pool, Ruan Labuschagne (16) and Thalita Conradie (13) shared a tally of five gold medals. Labuschagne won the 100m butterfly, while Conradie added the 50m freestyle and 100m butterfly on the final evening.

Winning the fantastic four were Joane Meintjies (9) and Bernard du Raan (11) in the 50m freestyle, Connor Buck (10) in the 100m butterfly as well as Sachin Chetty (13) and Elzanie Rademeyer (13) in the 50m breaststroke.

Three gold medals in three days of competition went to Lubbe van Zyl (15) finishing with the 50m freestyle title, Joshua Woods (12) topping the 50m breaststroke and Mark Dedekind (14) adding the 50m freestyle and 50m breaststroke.

Making the top of the medal podium on two occasions were Cassidy Muller (15) in the 100m butterfly, Helene Jansen van Rensburg (9), Sonja Sauer (16) and Annemi Nell (14) in the 50m breaststroke, Joron Weyermuller (10) in the 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle and Shaunagh le Sur (14) in the 50m freestyle.

The remaining age group category races were won by Rourke Louch (11), Jason Bosch (16), Sigrid Aandnesgaard (11) and Andrea Diedrick (12) in the 50m breaststroke, Trent Strydom (12), Ronin Melman (13), Sphesihle Ngcobo (14), Daisy Dixon (10), Arabella Watson (12) and Rachel McCondochie (14) in the 100m butterfly as well as Ruan Jansen van Vuuren (12), Asher Biggs (13), Anke van Heerden (11), Danielle West (12) and Jaquelene Piso (15) in the 50m freestyle.

Swimming South African will now be looking forward to hosting the SA National Aquatic Championships which will be held from 15-20 April 2013 in Port Elizabeth.

One Comment

  1. Liezel van Rooyen

    April 14, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *