Darian dashes to two A qualification times | SASCOC - SASCOC

Darian dashes to two A qualification times

There was plenty of action in the pool on the second day of the SA National Short Course Championships in Pietermaritzburg on Friday, as four more A Qualification Times are added to the FINA World Championships list.

Giulio Zorzi was fast in the 100m breaststroke semi-finals, racing to an A Qualification Time of 1:00.00 ahead of Neil Versfeld and Kyle Duckitt in 1:01.22 and 1:01.60 respectively, while Darian Townsend added two more A Qualification times in both the 100m freestyle and 100m individual medley semi-finals in an impressive 48.19 and 53.95 respectively.

Garth Tune just missed the 53.43 Qualification time in the 100m backstroke, winning the event in a fast 53.89 with Neil de Villiers in second (53.97) and Darren Murray third (54.10).

The 800m freestyle title went to KZN’s Chad Ho who finished over 10 seconds ahead of Dean Myhill and Jason Touw in 8:09.92.

On the ladies side, Jessica Pengelly was on top of the world when she added her second A Qualification Time and gold medal in the 800m freestyle, clocking a time of 8:33.24. The silver medal was won by Kyna Pereira with the bronze going to Caitlin Kat.

Jessica Ashley-Cooper, who raced an A Qualification time in yesterday’s 100m backstroke semi-finals, grabbed the gold medal in Friday’s finals, touching the wall in 1:00.39. Lehesta Kemp took home the silver in 1:02.87 with the bronze medal going to Janneke Malan in 1:03.33.

Jamie Reynolds won the 100m breaststroke final in 32.74, followed by Kelly Gunnell (32.92) and Tatjana Schoenmaker (33.04).
In the 200m breaststroke, Kathryn Meaklim was fast off the block, claiming the gold in 2:29.32 ahead of Kelly Gunnell (2:31.57) and Marlies Ross (2:31.91).

The ladies TUKS 4 x 100m freestyle relay team took the honours in a time of 3:54.06 ahead of KZN in 3:58.38 and Western Province in 4:00.48. Keeping up the gold medals for TUKS, the men’s 4 x 50m freestyle relay team won the race, clocking 1:29.82 and were followed by KZN and the TUKS B team.

The multi-disability races saw Tenza Abrahams winning the 50m freestyle in 33.87 (S1-13) while Christelle Kriel took the S13-14 category gold in 34.36. Kriel also won the 100m backstroke and 50m butterfly later on in the evening.

James Bezuidenhout and Challis Wright both claimed gold in the 100m backstroke in the S1-13 and S13-14 categories respectively, with Wright also bagging the gold in the 50m freestyle and 50m butterfly.

In the 50m butterfly and 100m backstroke (S1-13), Alani Ferreira came in top position in both races.

The SA Short Course Championships will continue on Saturday 2012.

FINA World Short Course Championships Qualification Times following Day Two:
Chad le Clos ÔÇô 200m freestyle, 50m butterfly (SF)
Darian Townsend ÔÇô 200m freestyle, 100m IM (SF), 100m freestyle (SF)
Jessica Pengelly ÔÇô 400m individual medley, 800m freestyle
Kathryn Meaklim ÔÇô 400m individual medley ÔÇ¿Darren Murray ÔÇô 100m backstroke
Roland Schoeman ÔÇô 50m butterfly
Karin Prinsloo ÔÇô 100m Backstroke (SF)
Jessica Ashley Cooper- 100m Backstroke (SF)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *