Crous swims qualifier | SASCOC - SASCOC

Crous swims qualifier

It was Charl Crous who led the way as the Olympic A Qualification short list continued to grow on the third night of swimming action at the SA National Aquatic Championships at Kings Park Aquatic Centre, Durban on Wednesday.

Crous turned on the power to cruise ahead of Darren Murray and Rickey Ellis to an impressive 54.17 second finish in the final of the 100-metre backstroke. Murray ended in 54.80, while Ellis clocked 56.16. Olympic qualifying time was 54.40.

The semi-finals of the 200m butterfly proved to be third time lucky for Durbanite Chad le Clos as he raced to his third Olympic A Qualification Time, touching the wall in a fast 1:55.30. The final of the event will be held on Thursday.

Kathryn Meaklim brought the crowd to life when she grabbed her second Olympic A Qualification Time in the 200m individual medley semi-finals, taking the night’s total to three with the final of the race to be concluded tomorrow. She won in 2:33.33, just 0.03sec inside qualifying.

It was a narrow miss for United States based Darian Townsend who claimed the gold in the 200m freestyle, clocking 1:47.88, just 0.06sec short of the Olympic A qualifying time of 1:47.82. Sebastien Rousseau finished with the silver in 1:48.69 and Jean Basson with the bronze in 1:48.70.

Townsend will be looking to reproduce his Olympic A Qualification Time clocked at the AT&T Winter Nationals in America when he takes to the water in his favorite 200m individual medley, on Sunday.

In the 100m breaststroke, Suzaan van Biljon was victorious with a golden 1:08.76, while Tara Nicholas came in second in 1:10.01 and Ronwyn Roper in third with 1:10.85.

Leone Vorster, Karin Prinsloo and Wendy Trott topped the 200m freestyle semi-finals in 2:02.12, 2:03.78 and 2:03.79 before the final of the event, which will take place on Wednesday.

Prinsloo also took the gold in the 100m backstroke in 1:01.52, a second ahead of Jessica Ashley-Cooper in 1:02.47 and Lehesta Kemp in 1:04.07. Qualifying time was 1.00.82

In the 50m freestyle disability event, Charl Bouwer (S13), Hendri Herbst (S5) and Kevin Paul (S10) set Paralympic A Qualification Times in Wednesday night’s┬á finals, finishing in 24.38, 26.86 and 25.68 respectively.

Challis Wright, Craig Groenewald and Avron Manchest finished with the gold, silver and bronze in the S14 category 50m freestyle in 26.62, 26.64 and 27.11 respectively while Yvonne Smith (S14), Cornell Loubser (S15) and Christelle Kriel (S14) made up the medal podium in 31.24, 29.76 and 34.95.

Later on in the evening Wright, Groenewald and Martyn Groenewald were fastest in the S14 50m backstroke in 32.22, 33.41 and 33.43 with Achmat Hassiem, James Bezuidenhout and Johann van Heerden scooping the gold, silver and bronze in 32.13, 34.72 and 34.77.

Smith took the silver medal in the 50m backstroke in 38.53 ahead of Leanne Sterrenberg in 41.39 and behind Cornell Loubser in 35.65. Shireen Sapiro (S10), Tezna Abrahams (S10) and Dimakatso Makgakga (S9) were triumphant in the 50m backstroke in 33.99, 39.91 and 45.44.

Natalie du Toit was first in the 50m freestyle S9 category in 31.40 with Shireen Sapiro (S10 ÔÇô 31.08) in second and Emily Gray (32.84) in third.

Thursday’s heats will start at 9.30am while the finals will begin at 6pm. Entrance is R15 per person.

Olympic A Qualifying Times following Wednesday’s third day of the championships

┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Chad le Clos ÔÇô 400m individual medley ÔÇô 4:13.86
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Le Clos ÔÇô 200m freestyle (SF) ÔÇô 1:47.20
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Le Clos ÔÇô 200m butterfly (SF) ÔÇô 1:55.30
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cameron van der Burgh ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 59.90
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Riaan Schoeman ÔÇô 400m individual medley ÔÇô 4:15.60
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Heerden Herman ÔÇô 400m freestyle ÔÇô 3:48.57
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kathryn Meaklim ÔÇô 400m individual medley – 4:37.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Meaklim ÔÇô 200m individual medley (SF) ÔÇô 2:13.33
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Crous ÔÇô 100m backstroke ÔÇô 54.17
Paralympic A Qualifying Times:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Bouwer (S13) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 59.78
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Bouwer (S13) ÔÇô 400m freestyle – 4:13.93
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Bouwer (S13) ÔÇô 50m freestyle ÔÇô 24.38
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Hendri Herbst (S11) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:18.98
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Herbst (S11) ÔÇô 400m freestyle ÔÇô 4:58.75
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Herbst (S11) ÔÇô 50m freestyle ÔÇô 26.86
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Shireen Sapiro (S10) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:10.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit (S9) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:14.78
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Du Toit (SB8) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:29.84
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Emily Gray (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:16.88
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Tadhg Slattery (SB5) – 100m breaststroke -1:40.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Hendrik van der Merwe (SB5) – 100m breaststroke -1:43.84
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Challis Wright (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:16.02
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Craig Groenewald (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:14.80
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Yvonne Smith (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:32.43
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Smith (S14) ÔÇô 200m freestyle ÔÇô 2:24.24
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Renette Bloem (SB11) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:39.06
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Marike Naude (SB13) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:41.27
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kevin Paul (SB9) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:05.94 (World Record)
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Paul (S10) ÔÇô 50m freestyle ÔÇô 25.68

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *