Gelant spearheads team | SASCOC - SASCOC

Gelant spearheads team

SA Cross Country Trials winner Elroy Gelant will spearhead the 24-member team to represent South Africa at the second CAA Africa Cross Country Championships at Rondebosch, Cape Town on Sunday 18 March.

Gelant will be representing South Africa at the World Indoor Championships in Istanbul this weekend (9-11 March), Joining Gelant will be the same team that won the top six places at the Southern Region Cross Country Championships in Mauritious on 3 March, with the exception of Isaac Mbuyase who filled in as a reserve for Gelant at those championships.

Only Lebogang Phalula’s place of the six, who competed in Mauritious, is in question as she is currently undergoing treatment for a knee injury. Coach JP van der Merwe confirmed that she is still going to physiotherapy. Lebogang feels she is responding positively to treatment and is hoping to be fit for the championships.

Amongst the junior men are five Central Gauteng athletes (Tumisang Monnatlala, Sello Mokwena, Sithembile Dondolo, Zweli Nzima and Thapelo Madiba), with Sello Masia from the Free State. Monnatlala won the junior men’s trials on 18 February in Potchefstroom.

In the junior women’s category Central Gauteng were less dominating as Gauteng North and Central North West also made their mark.┬áSylvia Tshetlanyane (CGA) won the trials in Potchefstroom, securing her spot in the South African team.┬á Others to join her are the Van Graan twins from Gauteng North, Anylsee and Kyla, (second and fourth respectively at the trials) Luleka Dyonki from CNW (third), Thandeka Manzana (fifth at trials ÔÇô AGN) and Tahndi Sihohle (sixth at trials from CGA).

The big showcase of the second CAA African Cross Country Championships will take place on 18 March with 20 countries from the continent.

The full SA team for the championships

Senior Men: Elroy Gelant, David Manja, Boy Soke, Lungisa Mdadelwa, Dean Brummer, Kgosi Tsosane
Senior Women: Lebo Phalula, Mpho Mabuza, Lebogang Phalula, Portia Ngwenya, Ntombisintu, Mfunzi, Nolene Conrad
Junior Men: Tumisang, Monnatlala, Sello Masia, Sello Mokwena, Sithembile Dondolo, Zweli Nzima, Thapelo Madiba
Junior Women: Sylvia Tshehtlanyane, Anylsee van Graan, Luleka Dyonki, Kyla van Graan, Thandeka Manzana, Tahndi Sihohle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *