Olympian for KZN trials | SASCOC - SASCOC

Olympian for KZN trials

Beijing Olympian Burry Stander, Cherise Taylor, David George, Kevin Evans, James Reid, Rourke Croeser and Myles Van Muschenbrook will all be lined up come this weekend for the KwaZulu-Natal Time Trial and Road Cycling Championships.

A lot of these names are mostly associated with mountain biking, but with full road closures and spectacular routes, these big guns of the MTB world could not pass up the opportunity to take up the road cycling challenge.

With full road closure for both events, courtesy of Ethekwini, the championship comprises of two events over the Saturday and Sunday. The Time Trial will be run from Beach Road (Kings Park Pool) on a circular loop around Snell Parade, Athlone and NMR Avenue on Saturday  (8am) start.  The course is flat and fast, with some technical components to keep riders on the attack in order to get the fastest possible time.  With the spectacular backdrop of the Moses Mabhida Stadium and feeling the cool ocean breeze, the top riders will be hammering it out on the same course as the SA Vets Masters and Schools Championships in March.

The road race will take place along the M13 from Westville down to 45th Cutting and back up the M13 to Cowies Hill on Sunday (also an 8am start). The entire freeway has been closed off for the event providing double-lane roads for great racing. Veteran ladies Road Champion Isabel Moolman will be chasing for line honours once again, amongst some strong competition.

Due to a sudden rush of entries over the weekend, KZN Cycling has decided to extend the entry date for this weekend’s provincial Time Trial and Road Cycling Championships to Wednesday. Cut-off for these late entries is at 7pm, and will carry a late entry fee of R50 added to the very reasonable entry fee of R120.

All cyclists are welcome to participate and a minimum of a Cycling SA membership is required.  Participants are categorised in terms of age.  Although riders between the ages of 18 and 49 years will start together to race for the overall title of KZN Road Champ, participants will also be categorised in their respective age categories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *