Oz honours for SA | SASCOC - SASCOC

Oz honours for SA

Team South Africa won the IC Junior Challenge tennis event played in Adelaide last week, writes Mark Etheridge.

A team of four youngsters made the trip Down Under. The two-boy, two-girl team was made up of Lynn Kiro, Ilze Hattingh, Matthew Rossouw and Theo Ferreira.

The competition format was that of round-robin and South Africa ended up tops ahead of Argentina, Germany, United States, India and Australia.

Kiro had all the more reason to celebrate. She and Germany’s Alex Mannapov were the recipients of the IC Sportsmanship awards.

President of the South African IC Committee, Leonie Grondel, was said to be “stoked” at the success of the South Africans.

The juniors are now in Melbourne and looking forward to some more relaxed tennis at the famous Kooyong tennis club and to visiting the Australian Open.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *