Devon's Dutch delight | SASCOC - SASCOC

Devon’s Dutch delight

Team South Africa have bagged eight medals after the penultimate day of the Dutch Open Swimming Championships in Eindhoven, Netherlands on Saturday.

Our swimmers won a gold, two silver and five bronze medals in the hotly contested competition.

Devon Brown’s phenomenal performance in the 400-metre freestyle showed off the youngster’s great potential against some of the world’s toughest competition. Brown’s time of 3min 51.28sec won him the top of the podium finish ahead of Denmark’s Mads Glaesner in 3:51.66 and Italy’s Gregorio Paltrinieri in 3:54.27.

In the 200m backstroke, Darren Murray and Charl Crous came second and third respectively, Murray clocking 2:00.38 while Crous ended in a close 2:00.43. Nick Driebergen claimed the gold in a new Championship record time of 1:58.70. In the B Finals of the event, Michael Meyer finished third.

Sixteen-year-old Vanessa Mohr touched the wall in third place to take the bronze medal in the 100m butterfly with a time of 59.43 behind Sarah Sjostrom’s Championship Record time of 57.32 and Marleen Veldhuis in 59.20.

Karin Prinsloo, who won seven golds and a silver at the recent All-Africa Games, also finished with a bronze medal in the 200m freestyle in a time of 1:58.85. Femke Heemskerk was first in 1:56.76 and Sarah Sjostrom in second (1:57.21).

On the opening day of the competition on Saturday, first in the water was Tadhg Slattery who claimed a silver medal for South Africa in the 100m breaststroke multi-disability race SB5 category, clocking a fast 1:37.42 and well under the Paralympic qualification time of 1:54.11.

The SA team followed with two bronze medals from Kathryn Meaklim and Michael Meyer both in the 200m individual medley.

Meaklim was fastest off the block but could not maintain the pace, finishing with a time of 2:14.88 behind Hannah Miley in 2:12.18 and Spain’s Beatriz Gomes in 2:13.97. In the B Finals of the 200m breaststroke, Meaklim was in top position with a time of 2:33.11, followed by Kelly Gunnell in third.

Meyer’s time of 2:03.70 secured him the final spot on the medal podium while Simon Sjodin took the gold in a new Championship Record time of 2:00.22 and Xavier Mohammed the silver in 2:01.66.

In the 200m butterfly, Mandy Loots came in fourth position with a time of 2:13.26, while Leith Shankland was fourth in the C Finals of the 200m freestyle.

The final day of the championships will take place on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *