Murray, Steyn win again | SASCOC - SASCOC

Murray, Steyn win again

Richard Murray and Andrea Steyn maintained the status quo in the BSG-Energade triathlon series at Brandvlei Dam, Worcester on Sunday, writes Mark Etheridge.

Murray has won all but two of the races in the series while Steyn is simply unstoppable, not having tasted defeat in the entire series thus far.

But Murray certainly didn’t have things all his own way on Sunday and at the end of the day just eight seconds separated him from Namibia’s Abrahm Louw. Murray hit the finish line in 59min 10sec while Claude Eksteen was third 20 seconds down the line.

“My race definitely didn’t go to plan,” Murray told Road to London 2012 on Monday. “It was a very rough first 200 metres in the swim and my goggles were misting up so being able to navigate was an utter nightmare. By the end of he swim I had lost around 30 seconds which made my bike pretty much a time trial.”

Spanish training partner Anton Ruanova was the only cyclist helping take a turn on the front in the bike and making matters worse was that the heavens opened. Coupled with heavy winds and the bike leg was not for the faint-hearted.

“We were around 1min back at the turn-around and with a wind from behind we made up about 15 seconds but still meant that we were 45 seconds back at the start of the run.”

In his favour though was the fact that running is very much his forte. “I went all out really dug deep to close the gap between myself, Henri Schoeman, Abrahm and Claude. I managed to catch all of them but only caught Abrahm around 500m before the finish.

“I was really stuffed but amazed that I could still dig that deep after such a hard season.”

Steyn clocked 68:43 for her victory, with Carla van Huyssteen second, 41sec back and Vicky van der Merwe, back from injury, a further 25sec back for the bronze medal spot. Steyn has now won all six of the races to date.

The Series wraps up at the Emerald Casino in Vanderbijlpark on 4 December.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *