Murray, Steyn win again | SASCOC - SASCOC

Murray, Steyn win again

By Mark Etheridge

Richard Murray made it three out of five BSG Energade Series triathlon victories in a wet Port Elizabeth at the weekend as Andrea Steyn proved as invincible as ever with a fifth consecutive series win in the women’s category.

Murray won the first event of the series at Roodeplaat Dam in Pretoria, then jetted off to Mexico where he finished second in a World Cup event. He missed the next two legs which went to Erhard Wolfaardt and then got back to his winning ways to post victories in Midmar last week and PE on Sunday.

Murray covered the 750-metre swim, 40km bike and 10km run course in 55min 41sec, beating Claude Eksteen by 52 seconds with Abrahm Louw third in 56:44.

“It was a wet, fast but enjoyable day in the saddle for me,” Murray said on his return to his Cape Town base. “My legs were a bit stiff before the event and we started under some heavy cloud cover. We had a cracker of a swim and I came out of the water in fifth spot behind Henri Schoeman, Abrham, Anton Ruanova, Claude and myself.

“I went out with the normal faces onto the bike which was very wet and the guys were a bit lazy out on the bike. Claude, Abrahm, myself and Henri were doing most of the pulling on the bike and then just before transition, Abrahm went down on a white line and I need to weave to miss him.”

Onto the run and Murray was into his stride right away. “I went out flat taps and settled into a good rhythmn. By the turn-around I had a sizable lead over Claude Eksteen in second and then Abrahm, Henri and Pieter van der Mescht. I kept on cranking it in the run and got the win. It was a great event with great organisation. Now for the next leg in Brandvlei Dam near Worcester this weekend.”

Meanwhile Steyn was doing what she has done all season and that’s dominate. She won in 65:08 from All Africa Games champion Carlyn Fischer who was 20 seconds adrift and clearly buoyed by her fine ninth spot in a World Cup event in Colombia recently. Steyn is now unbeaten in all five of this year’s races and her Port Elizabeth victory means she has now notched up an incredible 36 wins in the history of the series.

Final podium place in PE went to Cape Town’s Vicky van der Merwe in 66:48.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *