Amajimbos champs | SASCOC - SASCOC

Amajimbos champs

The South African Under-17 boys’ team have been crowned the inaugural FNB Lucas Radebe Football Festival African Boys Champions after the hosts defeated Namibia 7-0 at the University of Johannesburg’s Soweto campus on Friday

This was in the final of the week-long tournament which started on Monday. Amajimbos’ success comes 24 hours after the South African women’s Under-17 team were also crowned the inaugural girls’ champions at the same venue.

Both teams won the tournament without losing a single match.

Siyanda Ngcobo scored a brace for the boys’ team in the 30th and 38th minutes to give Amajimbos a 2-0 half-time lead. Leepile Tlotlo netted South Africa’s third in the 45th minute before Nhakanipho Ntuli grabbed two in 58th and 70th minutes to equal Bantwana’s final score against the Namibian girls a day before. Marcelo Mendes continued the goal scoring spree in the 80th minute, while the final goal came from Bongani Mathebula in the referee’s optional time.

South Africa’s head Coach Solly Luvhengo expressed his delight after the match.

ÔÇ£First of all I would like to thank SAFA, FNB and Lucas Radebe for such a tournament and I am very happy with the result of both the match and the tournament. We were lucky to have seen Namibia play against Zambia so we knew their strengths and we just needed to have a good game plan and we stuck to it. Well done to the boys and I hope we keep improving,ÔÇØ said Luvhengo.

In the tournament’s development side, Thohoyandou girls finished the tournament with yet another win for a perfect record of four wins in the same number of games. Thohoyandou beat Kimberly 2-1 and the Mthatha girls defeated Pietermaritzburg 3-0.

The boys from Thohoyandou registered their second win of the tournament after defeating Kimberly 3-0 while Pietermaritzburg and Mthatha played to a 1-1 draw.

Player of the tournament:
Girls: Nomvuyo Bhengu ÔÇô Pietermaritzburg, Boys: Siphelele Khebesi – Pietermaritzburg

Top Goal-scorer:
Girls: Xiluva Tshabalala ÔÇô Thohoyandou, 6 GoalsÔÇ¿, Boys: Thokozani Dlamini & Kwanele Zulu ÔÇô both from Pietermaritzburg, 3 Goals each
Golden Glove:
Girls: Mashudu Tsifularo ÔÇô Thohoyando, Boys: Mitilene Ntwanano – Thohoyandou

2011 Development Champions:
Girls: Thohoyandou, Boys: Pietermaritzburg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *