SA take on Argentina | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA take on Argentina

Just back from their victory at the Africa Cup Olympic hockey qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe, The EagleTurf South Africa v Argentina men’s series kicks off in Randburg on Friday.

The world number 12 SA men meet world No11 Argentina again in the second international of the two-Test series in Randburg on Sunday.

South Africa come into the EagleTurf series on the back of last Sunday’s exciting 1-0 victory over arch-continental rivals Egypt in Bulawayo.

Head coach Pablo Lombi’s Argentina squad are preparing for next month’s Pan-American Games Olympic Qualifier tournament while both the South Americans and hosts South Africa will be taking part in the November/December Champions Challenge tournament at Randburg featuring the world’s ninth to 16th-ranked countries. With the respective national teams not yet finalised for these prestigious events there is much to play for this weekend.

SA head coach Gregg Clark and the national selection panel have named a 25-man squad for the two Tests. A number of changes will have to be made for the second Test as the bulk of Clark’s first-choice players have to return to their European clubs on Saturday.

The 25-player SA line-up that will once again be captained by KZN Coastal Raiders midfielder Wade Paton in the absence of injured Austin Smith of Western Province, features seven Kaspersky Southern Gauteng representatives, three from the Pretoria-based Northern Blues, five and six respectively from Western Province and the Durban-based Raiders with two apiece from Amathole-Border and Eastern Province.

Goalkeepers: Jacques Le Roux (WP), Brendon Botes (EP), Rassie Pieterse (Kaspersky Southern Gauteng).

Defenders: Justin Reid-Ross (Northern Blues), Lloyd Madsen, Gareth Carr (both KZN Coastal Raiders), Rhett Halkett (NB), Lance Louw , Ricky West (both KSG), Andrew Cronje (WP), Peter Bailey (EP), Francois Pretorius (NB).

Midfielders: Wade Paton (capt), Taine Paton, Tim Drummond (all KCR), Clinton Panther (KSG), Clive Terwin (WP), Owen Mvimbi (KSG), Grant Robertson (WP), Shaun Davenhill (KCR).

Strikers: Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Julian Hykes (Amathole-Border), Miguel da Graca, Thornton McDade (both KSG), Geowynne Gamiet (Amathole-Border).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *