Team SA for Africa Cup | SASCOC - SASCOC

Team SA for Africa Cup

The Investec South Africa women’s hockey team has been named for the Africa Cup Olympic Games Qualifier tournament in Zimbabwe in early September.

The SA team that takes part in the Africa Cup event in Bulawayo from 2-11 September will be captained by Kaspersky Southern Gauteng and World All Stars midfielder Marsha Marescia.

Selection convenor Mickey Gordon said the panel that includes head coach Giles Bonnet and former SA player Jo Morly-Jepson had put much thought into the composition of the line-up for the tournament that also serves as the 2012 London Olympic Games Qualifier event for the African continent.

The Africa Cup is the International Olympic Committee’s tournament qualifier to determine who will represent the continent in London.

Gordon named the team following the SA Women’s Interprovincial Hockey Tournament that concluded at the University of Free State on Saturday.

He said a squad of 36 that he named were also in the mix for London 2012.  They will be considered for Test matches to take place in the forthcoming months and will also take part in a national training camp.

The 36 will then be refined to 24 players who will be earmarked to play for SA at the Olympic Games should they qualify.

Of the 36 SA squad members, six players have injury problems that ruled them out of consideration for Bulawayo while a further six were not in the selection mix for the continent’s hockey showpiece as a result of study and employment demands.

SA team for Africa Cup
Cindy Botha (KZN Coastal Raiders), Tarryn Bright (WP), *Tanya Britz (Free State), *Bernadette Coston (Southern Gauteng), Sulette Damons (North West), Illse Davids (WP), Nicole de Vries (FS), Liesel Dorothy (EP), Lesley-Ann George (FS), Hanli Hattingh (WP), Kim Hubach (Northern Gauteng), *Nicole Kemp (FS), Sanani Mangisa (NG), Marsha Marescia (SG, capt), Jade Mayne (WP), *Catherine McNulty (SG), Shelley Russell (WP), Nicolene Terblanche (NG). (*new caps).

Not considered due to injury: Hettie Oosthuizen (FS), Kelly Madsen (KZN), Celia Evans (NW), Marcelle Keet (FS), Jen Wilson (KZN), Dirkie Chamberlain (NG).

Unavailable due to study and work commitments: Kathleen Taylor (WP), Pietie Coetzee (SG), Mariette Rix (WP), Lenise Marais (KZN), Lisa Deetlefs (SG), Kate Woods (WP).

Rest of 36-player SA training squad: Louise Coertzen (SG), Izelle Lategan (FS), Tarryn Moses (NG), Pippa Rabey (WP), Roxanne Turner (SG), Annelle van Deventer (SG).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *