SA's best in line for honours | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA’s best in line for honours

The finalists for the SA Sports Awards were announced at a cocktail function at Sun City in the North West Province and all the winners will be announced at the same venue on August 21, 2011. The awards were made possible through the joint partnership of SRSA, SASCOC, SABC and the North West Department of Sports, Arts and Culture. Winners will be announced in 16 different categories, covering the full South African sporting spectrum. Judging will be done by a panel of experts that will include knowledgeable sports and media experts who are Motlatsi Keikabile, Doctor Khumalo, Kass Naidoo, Shaun Adriaanse, Gary Lemke, Cynthia Tshaka, David O’Sullivan, Robert Marawa and Duane Dell ‘Oca.

To ensure that the Awards are fairly done an auditing company has been appointed to oversee the process. The only category to be voted for by the public is that of Sports Star of the Year. Finalists in this category are:

  • A Noko Matlou (football)
  • B Hashim Amla (cricket)
  • C Cecil Afrika (sevens rugby)
  • D Cameron van der Burgh (swimming)
  • E Charl Schwartzel (golf)

Members of the public are urged to vote and can do so by texting the key word “SPORTS” followed by either A , B , C, D or E to 34760 as outlined above.

The various other categories and the nominees are as follows:

  • Administrator of the Year: Daniel Jordaan, Nomsa Mahlangu, Pat Smith
  • Volunteer of the Year: Christiaan Arnold Thyse, Pieter Friederik Visagie, Silver Malele
  • Federation of the Year: SA Golf Association, SA Hockey Association, Swimming SA
  • Photographer of the Year: Barry Aldworth, Duif du Toit, Lefty Shivambu
  • Journalist of the Year: David Isaacson, Marjolein van der Stadt, Simnikiwe Xabanisa
  • Indigenous Games Star of the Year: Eastern Cape Intonga, Ingqathu KZN Team, Sifisa Hlekwayo
  • Newcomer of the Year: Chad le Clos, Luvo Manyonga, Tshepo Isaac Modikwa
  • Sportsman with a Disability: Hilton Langenhoven, Lucas Sithole, Samkelo Radebe
  • Sportswoman with a Disability: Emily Gray, Kgothatso Montjane, Natalie du Doit
  • Sportsman of the Year: Cameron van der Burgh, LJ van Zyl, Thulani Serero
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Noko Matlou, Pietie Coetzee, Sunette Viljoen
  • Coach of the Year: Frans Ludeke, Johann Hendrick van Heerden, Pitso Mosimane
  • Team of the Year: Commonwealth Games Bowls Team, P750 Inflatable Team, Vodacom Bulls
  • Minister’s Award for Excellence: Minister to announce on 20 August, 2011
  • Steve Tshwete Lifetime Award: Minister to announce on 20 August, 2011


  1. carl Demers

    July 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Hello, is for sale by businessesman
    Pretty good domain name.
    Financing Available.
    info [email protected]

  2. Charles Losper

    July 26, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Why is other sports like karate and darts not included in this sporst awards please?

  3. Eugene Makhukhule

    August 22, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Hi, could you please send me the list of the winners that where announced on the 21 August 2011

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *