Big team for Shanghai | SASCOC - SASCOC

Big team for Shanghai

Swimming South Africa (SSA) will send one of the largest contingents in recent times to the 14th FINA World Championships in Shanghai, it was announced in Johannesburg on Thursday.

A total of 76 swimmers will represent South Africa at the World Championships which take place in China from July 16-31, reports Sapa.

It will also be the first time since 1998 that a synchronised swimming team will participate as South Africa will be represented in four of the five disciplines — with diving being the only omission.

“This year’s international season and especially the FINA World Championships is of specific importance, as it is seen by FINA as a dress rehearsal for next year’s Olympic Games to be held in London,” said SSA president Jace Naidoo.

“It will also give newly appointed swimming head coach, Graham Hill, a chance to settle with the swimming squad and assess their chances against some of the top swimming nations in the world, such as the US and Australia.”

Among the male swimmers selected are current world record holder Cameron van der Burgh (50m and 100m breaststroke), former world record holder Gerhard Zandberg (50m backstroke) along with Olympic gold medalists Roland Schoeman and Darian Townsend.

These athletes have performed consistently well and, with their combined experience at international level, they have a good chance of bringing home more medals from Shanghai.

South African 14th FINA World Championships Swimming Team

1 Cameron van der Burgh (NTS), 2 Chad Le Clos (KZN), 3 Charl Crous (KZN), 4 Darian Townsend (KZN), 5 Gerhard Zandberg (NTS), 6 Heerden Herman (WP), 7 Mark Randall (BOR), 8 Neil Versveld (KZN), 9 Riaan Schoeman (KZN), 10 Roland Schoeman (NTS), 11 Gideon Louw (NTS), 12 Graham Moore (CG), 13 Darren Murray (NTS), 14 Leith Shankland (KZN), 15 Jean Basson (CG), 16 Sebastien Rousseau (WP), 17 Jasper Venter (KZN)

1 Vanessa Mohr (NTS), 2 Wendy Trott (WP), 3 Kathryn Meaklim (KZN,) 4 Karin Prinsloo (NTS), 5 Suzanne van Biljon (KZN,) 6 Chanelle van Wyk (NTS), 7 Leone Vorster (NTS)

The Open Water Swimming Team is:
10km men:
Chad Ho KZN, Troyden Prinsloo KZN
10km women: Natalie Du Toit CG
5km men: Danie Marais WP, Chad Ho KZN
5km women: Michelle Weber KZN, Natalie Du Toit CGA

Men’s water polo team:
1 Nicolas-Jon Molyneux (WP), 2 Adam Kajee (WP), 3 Donn Stuart (KZN), 4 Bevan Manson (BOR), 5 Gareth Samuel (CG), 6 Jason Kyte (CG), 7 Ryan Bell (CG), 8 Wesley Bohata (KZN), 9 Devon Card (WP), 10  Jarred Wingate Pearce (WP), 11  Gavin Kyte (CG), 12  Matthew Kemp (WP), 13  Grant Belcjer (CG)
Reserves: 14  Patrick Mc Carthy (KZN), 15 Westwood Pitt (CG), 16  William Naidoo (WP)
Women’s water polo team: 1 Lee Maarschalk (WP), 2 Sarah Harris (WP), 3 Lee-Anne Keet (KZN), 4 Kimberly Kay (WP), 5 Megan Schooling (WP), 6 Kelsey White (CGA), 7 Kimberly Schmidt (WP), 8 Nicolette Poulus (WP), 9 Jemma Dendy Young (WP), 10 Shelly Faulmann (WP), 11 Laura Barrett (WP), 12 Christine Barretto (KZN), 13 Dalaine Christian (Bor)
Reserves: 14 Haley Duncan (KZN), 15 Nicola Barret (WP) 16,  Mymoena Gamiet (WP), 7 Pippa Beaumnont (WP)

Synchronised swimming team:
1 Kerry-Beth Norden (EP), 2 Laura Strugnell (WP), 3 Emma Manners-Wood (WP), 4 Fatima Isaacs (WP), 5 Jessica Broughton (EP), 6 Jessica Hayes-Hill (KZN), 7 Lucy McCarthy (KZN), 8 Jessica Domiro (KZN), 9 Natasha Domiro (KZN), 10 Jennifer Woker (KZN), 11 Kelly Sloley (KZN)
Reserves: 1 Nicola David (WP), 2 Lara Lindeque (KZN), 3 Sally Torr (WP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *