Taylor wins again | SASCOC - SASCOC

Taylor wins again

Team USN’s Cherise Taylor continued her impressive sequence of successes on the domestic road racing scene when she won the Aquelle Tour Durban 105-kilometre race in Durban on Sunday.

The 21-year-old multiple South African champion outsprinted her rivals to clock a winning time of 2hr 40min 58sec. Anriette Schoeman (Nashua Toyota) was second and current South African road champion, Marissa van der Merwe (Team USN) was third.

The Elite women started with the veteran men’s group as part of Cycling South Africa’s seeding system, aimed at helping improve the strength of women’s racing.

ÔÇ£On one hand it’s great to race with the veteran men, but on the other, it isn’t,ÔÇØ said Taylor. ÔÇ£At today’s race, four of us women broke away and one veteran male joined us. But having him there, meant that the veteran men in the main pack would definitely chase us down, which brings the other women into contention again.ÔÇØ

The four women, Taylor, Cashandra Slingerland (FJR), Robyn de Groot (Nashua Toyota) and Jeaun-Mari Breytenbach (MTN Qhubeka) worked together to build up a lead that peaked at 45 seconds. But they were eventually caught by the main pack, setting up the race for a bunch sprint.

ÔÇ£With three turns in the last 700 metres, the finish suited me as I’m not afraid of going hard through corners in a bunch and I just made sure I was among the top men in the last couple of kilometres,ÔÇØ explained Taylor.

The victory sealed a successful weekend for Taylor’s USN team. Taylor won the Tour Durban Mountain Bike Challenge on Saturday with Van der Merwe taking the runner-up place. And on Sunday, Karien van Jaarsveld, winner of the recent ABSA Cape Epic women’s title, won the Dirtopia Marathon near Cape Town.

Aquelle Tour Durban
Leading results
Elite women:

1 Cherise Taylor (Team USN) 2hr 40min 58sec
2 Anriette Schoeman (Nashua Toyota)
3 Marissa van der Merwe (Team USN)
4 Charlotte van der Merwe (MTN Qhubeka)
5 Joanna van de Winkel (Nashua Toyota)
6 Jeaun-Mari Breytenbach (MTN Qhubeka)
7 Robyn de Groot (Nashua Toyota)
8 Sarah Chemaly (MTN Qhubeka)
9 An-Li Pretorius (MTN Qhubeka)
10 Cashandra Slingerland (FJR) all same time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *