Riccio wins fifth stage | SASCOC - SASCOC

Riccio wins fifth stage

Kristian House held on to his overall lead after the fifth stage of the inaugural Cell C Tour of South Africa on Thursday.

Thursday’s stage was a 175 kilometre ride between Oudtshoorn and Barrydale and Alberto Elli’s men made it two wins in a row when Bernardo Riccio (D’angelo & Antenucci-Nippo) won the bunch sprint. The Italian, whose last win came in 2008, was elated to finish off a great effort by his team.

ÔÇ£I was seventh in the final sharp turn with 850 metres to go, then felt strong when the sprint started. I am very happy with the win and the way the team chased.ÔÇØ

House (Rapha Condor-Sharp) has worn the race leader’s gold jersey since the second stage. On day’s proceedings he said: ÔÇ£Today worked out perfectly for usÔÇØ.

The escape of the day consisted of Jeremy Maartens (DCM), Tyler Day (Bonitas), Estifanos Gebresilassie (UCI African Team), Clint Hendricks (Tasol-GT), Frank Dressler-Lehnhof (Team Differdange-Magic-Sportfood.de) and Gregory Habeaux (Veranda’s Willems-Accent). There was only one King of the Mountains prime and Gebresilassie attacked as soon as the ascent started to held on and claim maximum points.

Maartens and Habeaux were the last surviving members of the break and were swallowed up with seven kilometres to go by the peloton, led by MTN-Qhubeka. With no one representing them in the day’s escape, their chasing was rewarded when Daryl Impey, Christoff van Heerden and Arran Brown took second, third and sixth respectively.

Friday’s 140km sixth stage will be the defining stage for the General Classification standings. The race starts in Hermanus and includes four categorised climbs, including Helshoogte, before finishing in Stellenbosch. House still has an overall lead of 2:22 and said: ÔÇ£We have a plan, we definitely have a plan for tomorrowÔÇØ.

Stage Five results
1 Bernardo Riccio (Ita) d’Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo 4hr 34min 04sec, ┬á2 Daryl Impey (RSA) MTN Qhubeka, 3 Christoff Van Heerden (RSA) MTN Qhubeka, 4 Yohann Gene (Fra) Team Europcar, 5 Herman Fouche (RSA) DCM, 6 Arran Brown (RSA) MTN Qhubeka, 7 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Veranda’s Willems – Accent, 8 Oscar Grau (Spa) Burgos 2016 – Castilla y Le├│n, 9 Tomas Smolen (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice, 10 Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 – Sanofi Aventis all same time

General classification
1 Kristian House (GBr) Rapha Condor – Sharp 15hr 52min 18sec,┬á 2 Daryl Impey (RSA) MTN Qhubeka +2:22, 3 Johann Rabie (RSA) Team Bonitas, 4 Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Burgos 2016 – Castilla y Le├│n, 5 David George (RSA) 360 Life, 6 Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) Team Europcar, 7 Thomas Degand (Bel) Veranda’s Willems – Accent, 8 Jonathan Tiernan-Locke (GBr) Rapha Condor – Sharp 0:02:25, 9 K├®vin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar 0:03:00 ┬á 10 Darren Lill (RSA) DCM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *