Team SA excels in Dubai | SASCOC - SASCOC

Team SA excels in Dubai

The 2010 UIPM (Union Internationale de Pentathlon Moderne) Biathle World Championships were held late in the year at the Le Meriden Mina Seyahi beach in Dubai.

Biathle is a continuous run-swim-run event with athletes competing in 21 age groups over varied run and swim distances. Two sets of competition are held within the championship – world-best performance on the day medals┬á for boys and girls in the Youth E (9-10),Youth D (11-12), Youth C (13-14) and Youth B (15-16) and official UIPM World Championship titles being awarded to the athletes Youth A (17-18), Juniors (19-21), Senior (22-39), Master A (40-49), Master B (50 -59), Master C (60-69) and Master D (70+).

Seventy-three athletes represented SAMPA (South African Modern Pentathlon Association) at this UIPM Biathle World Championship. After months of training many of these athletes triumphed with SAMPA recording 27 podium finishers out of a possible 60.

The first two events of the day saw SA athletes, Zander du Plessis and Lesley Bilgnaut claim gold. Bathandwa Dyantyi must be complemented on her fighting spirit to power herself into third place in the Youth D girls.

World Best Performance on the day medals were won by Zander du Plessis (gold), Matt Dewar (silver), Lesley Bilgnaut (gold), Lizaan Lombaard (bronze, Youth E), Heinrich Bruhns (bronze), Bathandwa Dyantyi (bronze, Youth D), Cameron Grassi) (gold), Hanre Herbst (silver), Louwrens Roux (bronze), Marlies  Ross (gold),  Marna Louwrens silver (Youth C), Basson Engelbrecht (silver) and Lauren Botha bronze (Youth B).

The World Championship title races saw Anthony Cox (Master 40-49) set a trend for the rest as the SA master athletes claimed 12 of the 18 medals at stake. Anthony Cox gold and Adri┬áVermaas bronze( 40-49 males). The Master B (50 -59) and Master C male athletes made it a clean sweep to claim all the medals across the two age groups — Stefan Snyders gold, Peter Venter silver, Dolph Nortier bronze, Anton Harrop-Allin gold, Basil Kletz silver and Bob Garden bronze.

The Master female athletes also did not disappoint — Rika Vermaas silver and Sorita Viljoen Bronze (40-49),Annelie Viviers bronze ( 50-59) and Agnes Griessel silver (60-69).The Youth A athletes added two more medals, Arno Smit silver and Eden Smith bronze.

SAMPA congratulates Ursula Sullwald, Anthony Bradford, the chaperones, athletes and parents on the great success — true South African ayoba spirit. The 2011 UIPM Biathle World championships will be held in Monaco in September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *