Banyana head for Zambia | SASCOC - SASCOC

Banyana head for Zambia

Banyana Banyana will be looking to start their Olympic Games football qualifying campaign off on a winning note when they travel to Lusaka to face Zambia on Saturday at the Nkoloma Stadium.

Following their bronze medal-winning performance at the CAF African Women Championship 2010 held in Ekurhuleni near Johannesburg and a 3-0 win over Zimbabwe in Harare just before the Christmas break last year, the SA national team have been hard at training in preparation for the trip to Zambia.

Prolific striker Amanda Dlamini, who plays for the University of Johannesburg in the Sasol League (Gauteng) competition, scored against Zimbabwe to follow her four goals netted at the 2010 CAF African Women’s Championship.

Other goal-scorers in the match in Harare were Limpopo-based goal-getter Noko Matlou (who plays for Brazilians FC in the Sasol League) and midfielder Mamello Makhabane, who represents Sasol League National Champions – Palace Super Falcons in Gauteng. Dlamini will lead the side with Matlou┬á appointed as team vice captain.

ÔÇ£It’s important for the Banyana Banyana to get a win in our opening Olympic qualifier in Lusaka, because we will play the Zambians in the return fixture in Durban at the end of the month,ÔÇØ said Banyana Banyana coach Joseph Mkhonza

Mkhonza will be looking for a solid display from tough tackling central defender Janine van Wyk, who proved to be  a pillar of strength for the Banyana Banyana defence during the African showpiece event.

Banyana Banyana national squad for Olympic qualifier against Zambia:

Thoko Mndaweni — Croesus Ladies FC (Gauteng)
Yolula Tsawe — Coastal Ladies FC (Eastern Cape)

Simphiwe Dludlu — Tuks Sport (Gauteng)
Janine van Wyk — Palace Super Falcons (Gauteng)
Simphiwe Masina — Detroit Ladies FC┬á (Mpumalanga)
Nothando Vilakazi — Moroka Swallows FC (Gauteng)
Sibongiseni Khamlana — Cape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)

Mantombi Hadebe — Croesus FC (Gauteng)
Mary Ntsweng — Mphahlele Ladies (Limpopo)
Elson Matjila — Detroit FC (Mpumalanga)
Nompumelelo Nyandeni — Rossiyank FC (Russia)
Mamello Makhabane — Palace Super Falcons (Gauteng)
Robyn Moodley — HPC (Gauteng)

Amanda Dlamini (capt) — University of Johannesburg FC (Gauteng)
Noko Matlou (vice-capt) — Brazilians FC (Limpopo)
Leandra Smeda — Ambassadors FC (Western Cape)
Mamphashe Popela — Flamingos (Mpumalanga)
Jermaine Seopesenwe — Santos FC (Western Cape)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *