Marathon stars head for Durban | SASCOC - SASCOC

Marathon stars head for Durban

The coastal city of eThekwini, KwaZulu-Natal hosts the SA Marathon Championships, presented by the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, on Saturday, 2 October.

The male and female open category champions at the event in Durban will each collect R20 000.

The main race starts at 5am from outside the Kings Park Stadium in Masabalala Yengwa Avenue (formerly NMR Avenue), with the route following Anton Lembede (Smith) Street onto the Albert Luthuli Highway (M4), turning before the N2 junction before heading back towards the promenade and to the stadium.

The programme also includes a 10km wheelchair race (5.20am start) and a 10km run (5.30am start). A 5km fun run will start at 8am.

At last year’s national championships, also held in Durban, Enos Matalane was crowned as champion after clocking 2hr 15min 11sec. Riana van Niekerk was last year’s SA women’s champion, after finishing in 2:48.02.

One Comment

  1. Bob

    September 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    The marathon championships should be held on the last weekend of February or the first weekend of March, although then Durban would be too humid and thus Port Elizabeth would be the better bet. The half marathon and the 10km could then rotate, or be allocated permanentaly to Durban and East London for the best in climatic conditions. The half in July and the 10km at the end of the cross counntry season in September/October. If, however, mediocrity remains our focus – it doesn’t really matter, does it?

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *