SA team for Canada | SASCOC - SASCOC

SA team for Canada

Johannesburg-based pole vault sensation Cheyne Rahme and South Western Districts hammer star Annemie Smith are among the 29-person national squad named by Athletics South Africa in preparation for the13th IAAF World Junior Championships in Moncton, Canada, from July 19-25.

Rahme produced a career best 5.50 metres at the Yellow Pages SA Youth and Junior Track and Field Championships held in Germiston last weekend and will be looking to clear 5.60 between now and the world junior event in order to join the shortlist for potential Commonwealth Games selection.

Outeniqua High pupil Smith ÔÇô with a career best of 57.13 metres awaiting ratification as a national record at the next ASA Council Meeting, took the gold medal at last weekend’s national championships with 55.25. This gave her to a third gold medal of the season having taken top spot at the national schools championships and senior title at the Yellow Pages SA Senior Track and Field Championships.

The national squad also includes Menlopark High 100 metres hurdles star Rikenette Steenkamp and Boland long jump talent Luvo Manyionga.

ASA Administrator Ray Mali offered congratulations to the selected athletes and said: ÔÇ£SA athletics has always had a vast range of talent at junior level and once again our young track and field athletes will have the opportunity of matching their skills against the best in the world when they compete at the IAAF World Junior Championships in Canada in July.ÔÇØ

ÔÇ£To assist the athletes in their final preparation ahead of the 2010 IAAF World Junior Championships, ASA will endeavour to organise competition opportunities during the month of June 2010. The squad announced today also forms a part of ASA’s medium term preparation for the 2012 Olympic Games in London.ÔÇØ

Mali added that the final team to the 2010 IAAF World Junior Championships will be announced on Wednesday 30 June 2010.

ÔÇ£Athletes not listed on the national squad announced today, can still qualify for the 2010 IAAF World Junior Championships provided that they meet the selection criteria during the ‘window period’ in June 2010,ÔÇØ added Mali.

The full squad

Waide Jooste (CGA), Gideon Trotter (AFS), Shaun de Klerk (AFS) all 100m, Wade Van Niekerk, De Klerk, Anaso Jobodwana (Border) all 200m, Jacques de Swardt (AGN), Shaun de Jager (Bol) both 400m, Rynhardt van Rensburg (AFS), Steven Mhlongo (CGA), Michael du Toit (CGA) all 800m, Ratlale Mokone (AFS) 1,500m, Kobus Moolman (AGN) 110m hurdles, Hamman Le Roux (ANWN) Shaun van Wyk (ACNW) both 400m h, Cheyne Rahme (CGA), Ruan van Wyk (WP) both pole vault, Luvo Manyionga (Bol), Stefan Brits (Bol) both long jump, Dewalt Van Heerden (CGA) discus, Rocco van Rooyen (WPA) javelin.
Bevin Smith (WPA) 200m, Anuschka Nice (AGN), Annica Coetzee (EPA) both 200m, Rikenette Steenkamp (AGN) 100m hurdles, Jean-Maree Senekal (Bol) 400m hurdles, Linique Prinsloo (AGN) long jump, Annique Smith (SWDA) hammer, Tazmin Britz (ACNW) javelin


  1. Junior

    April 19, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Well done to all of you!!
    This is indeed a great achievement with the very high qualifying standards set by ASA.
    Go get the medals for us!!!

  2. ian

    April 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Congrats on the athletes that have qualified. When will the dates and venues of the upcoming meetings be released for those athletes who would still like to qualify for world juniors?It would be great for them to know now, when they will be taking part.

  3. athi nyangwa

    April 23, 2010 at 10:18 am

    hey S.A future stars wishing ol the best in canada jst wish tht atleast a 50% of you will make it if nt the 100% of you

  4. athi nyangwa

    April 23, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Anaso Jobzzingzz hope you gonna show dem boy representin border boy!!!!

  5. KELLZ

    June 29, 2010 at 10:25 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *