Louw joins qualifiers | SASCOC - SASCOC

Louw joins qualifiers

Spurred on by his surprise defeat in the 100m freestyle on Thursday, Gideon Louw was the first to set a Commonwealth Games A-Qualification time in the 50m freestyle semi-finals at the fifth day of the Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships in Durban on Friday.

Louw’s time of 22.34sec was 0.01sec inside the required standard of 22.35sec.

In the second semi-final, Roland Schoeman charged to a winning time of 22.16sec.

Wendy Trott is fast making a name for herself as she powered to a 4.08.57 win in the 400m freestyle, well within the 4.11.26 set as an A-Qualifier for the Commonwealth Games.

Trott won the 800m freestyle title on Thursday night, also in a Commonwealth Games qualifying mark.

Darian Townsend, after missing out on setting a qualification time in the 100m butterfly, made up for it by powering to a 2.00.10 win in the 200m IM, with Sebastien Rousseau coming second with a qualifying time of 2:01.01, while Chad Le Clos just missed out on hitting the mark.

Natalie Du Toit continues to astound. The 26-year-old won her sixth gold medal of the championships when she won the 50m freestyle S9 category in a time of 30.07 seconds.

This was just outside the set time of 29.91 required as an A-Qualifier for the Commonwealth Games.

Local boy Charl van Zyl trumped Gerhard Zandberg in the 100m Backstroke, but fell just short of also adding his name to the list of swimmers who have set Commonwealth Qualifying standards.

Van Zyl touched the wall in 55.73sec ÔÇô the mark he was looking for was 55.14sec.

Currently 11 swimmers have achieved the Commonwealth A Qualifying time in their discipline that makes them eligible for selection by SASCOC (depending on final criteria).

Wendy Trott                                      400m/800m Freestyle
Roland Schoeman                            50m Butterfly/50m Freestyle
Chad Le Clos                                       200m Butterfly
Chanelle van Wyk                            50m Backstroke
Riaan Schoeman                               400m IM
Cameron van der Burgh                100m Breaststroke
Natalie du Toit┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á 50m Butterfly – S9 Category
Jean Basson                                       200m Freestyle
Gideon Louw                                     50m Freestyle
Darian Townsend                             200m IM
Sebastien Rousseau                       200m IM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *