Du Toit steams on | SASCOC - SASCOC

Du Toit steams on

Multiple Paralympic gold medallist and world record holder Natalie Du Toit won her sixth gold medal of the Telkom SA Aquatic Championships in Durban on Thursday evening and also set another world record.

She touched the wall in 1min 08.58sec in the 100m butterfly, well inside the required 1.10.98. But she wasn’t done for the night, going on to break her own 800m freestyle world record in the same race that Wendy Trott set yet another A-Qualifying time for the Commonwealth Games.

Du Toit had set the previous record in April 2004 when she clocked 9.01.41. On Thursday she became the first Paralympic swimmer in the S9 category to break the 9min mark as she clocked 8:59.09 for second overall behind Trott.

Trott improved on her time of 8.29.76 (qualifying target 8:35.98), by more than two seconds. The Western Province swimmer was superb, leading from the start and finishing in 8.27.11.

Earlier Chanelle van Wyk became the latest swimmer to post a Commonwealth Games A-Qualifying time in the 50m backstroke semi-finals with a time of 29.05. ÔÇ£I’m glad I did it in the semi’s the pressure is now off me for the final and hopefully I can improve on that.ÔÇØ

Riaan Schoeman also added his name to the list of potential Commonwealth Games entrants when he won the men’s 400m Individual Medley when he clocked an outstanding 4:14.80 ahead of Chad Le Clos (4:19.14).

Mandy Loots finished the fourth day with another gold medal by winning the 100m butterfly, but missed out on a Commonwealth Games A-Qualifier. Loots touched the wall in 59.71sec ÔÇô the target 59.35sec.

His trademark start saw Roland Schoeman win the 100m freestyle ahead of Gideon Louw. Louw had to make up over half a body length on Schoeman after a poor start, and that proved too much for him. Although he did rapidly close the distance, he ran out of pool as Schoeman won in 49.51sec to Louw’s 49.62sec for his second gold medal of the championships.

100m freestyle, final:
1 Roland Schoeman (NT) 49.51, 2 Gideon Louw (NT) 49.62, 3 Graeme Moore (CG) 49.99
400m individual medley final: 1 Riaan Schoeman (KZN) 4:14.80 (CGQT), 2 Chad le Clos (KZN) 4:19.14, 3 Jonathan Hill (CG) 4:28.50
800m freestyle: 1 Pal Joensen (Faroe Islands) 7:58.95, 2 Chad Ho (KZN) 8:09.04, 3 Johyn Ellis (KZN) 8:14.99

100m butterfly final:
1 Mandy Loots (CG) 59.71, 2 Vanessa Mohr (NT) 1:02.18, 3 Bianca Meyer (KZN) 1:02.68
800m freestyle final: 1 Wendy Trott (WP) 8:27.11 (CGQT), 2 Natalie du Toit (CG) 8:59.09, 3 Rene Warnes (KZN) 8:59.51

100m butterfly (S14 & S15):
1 Craig Groenewald (CG, S14) 1:03.20, 2 Challis Wright (CG, S14) 1:05.11, 3 David Coates (KZN, S14) 1:11.36
100m butterfly (S1-S13): 1 Achmat Hassiem (WP, S10) 1:01.92, 2 Sibusiso Mogale (CG, S6) 1:32.38, 3 Sean Clarke (KZN, S10) 1:13.06

100m butterfly (S14 & S15):
1 Cornell Loubser (NFS, S15) 1:12.14, 2 Dot Smit (SWD, S14) 1:28.43, 3 Leanne Sterrenberg (WP, S14) 1:37.22
100m butterfly (S1-S13): 1 Natalie du Toit (CG, S9) 1:08.58 (CGQT, 2 Shireen Sapiro (CG, S10) 1:17.22, 3 Adri Visser (CG, S5) 2:20.13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *