New rules under spotlight in Pretoria | SASCOC - SASCOC

New rules under spotlight in Pretoria

The South African National Archery Association (SANAA) will be making history later this month when the new archery rules incorporating para-archery are used for the first time in a world ranking continental championship.

Following the decision of the International Paralympic Committee to incorporate the sport into the world federation, para-archery now falls under the auspices of SANAA and will be included in the upcoming tournament to be held at the High Performance Centre in Pretoria between 24-27 April.

A record of over 170 participants have qualified for the tournament, which will run concurrently with the Continental Youth Olympic Games Qualifier.

Archery is a test of accuracy, strength and concentration. The sport is open to athletes with a physical disability (including spinal cord injury, cerebral palsy, amputee) in three functional classes (Open, Standing, and Wheelchair). It comprises of individual and team events, standing and wheelchair competitions, as well as events for visually impaired. Competitors shoot at a target marked with 10 scoring zones, from a set distance.

The governing body is the International Archery Federation (FITA), in relation with the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). Para-archery competitions follow the FITA rules with a few minor modifications as detailed in the IPC Archery Rules & Regulations. Presently 54 countries compete but the number is still growing.

As a Paralympic sport, archery was originally a means of rehabilitation and recreation for people with a physical disability. The first archery competitions for people with a disability were held during the first International Games for the Disabled in Stoke Mandeville, England, in 1948, with the participation of 130 athletes from two countries.

In 1960, archery was introduced to the world as a Paralympic sport during the Games in Rome. Since then, archery has always been included in the Paralympic Games competition programme.

One Comment

  1. Guy Henly

    May 7, 2010 at 3:40 am

    This is a great step forward for people with disabilities that were originally exempt.

    Can this be introduced for tennis aswell for the London 2012 games?

    I am a tennis player who has a mild form of cerebal palsy, but there is only wheelchair tennis at this stage. It would be great to have this introduced for standing disabled (cerebal palsy, amputees,spinal cord injuries etc).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *