Epic win for Bart, Jelmer | SASCOC - SASCOC

Epic win for Bart, Jelmer

It was a close call for the top teams in this year’s Absa Cape Epic as they battled it out to win the second stage of this year’s event on Sunday.

Bart Brentjens and Jelmer Pietersma of Trek-Brentjens attained their dream of a stage win in a time of 4:08.06,4 and were closely followed by Karl Platt and Stefan Sahm of the Bulls 1 Team (4:08.08,8), with South Africa’s Kevin Evans and Alban Lakata of the MTN Qhubeka Topeak Ergon team (4:08.10,7) following closely in the first sprint finish of this year’s event.

Sunday’s stage took riders from Ceres back to Ceres, covering a distance of 90km and 1┬á625m of climbing. Perceived by many as the single-track stage of the race, the landscape was vastly contrasting ÔÇô riders crossed farmlands, descended rocky scrub and navigated forest paths; all in one day.

The route was in the form of a cloverleaf, with Water Point 2 and 3 both at the Eselfontein Farmhouse. The narrow, steep and rocky climbs split the race apart, with tough climbs (the biggest being Dead Man Walking in the second loop) being fair payment for the sweeping descent. Riders also had to be careful with rocks hiding around the treacherous bends.

This was followed by more forest single-track offering temporary relief, but the last 10km, traversing farm paths, proved to be hard work. Due to the narrow trails, the organisers arranged a staggered start for today’s stage, spreading the field out over an hour ÔÇô seven groups started at ten-minute intervals from 7am. until 8 am.

The first women to complete the stage were Hannele Steyn-Kotze and Ivonne Kraft (team Sludge Ladies) finishing in a time of 5:16.10,0 (also first overall at 11:04.05,3).

They were again followed by Kristine and Anna-Sofie Noergaard (Team Rothaus-CUBE) in a time of 5:22.31,1 who remain in second position overall (11:15.19,2). Giuliana Vitali and Tamara Horn (Team bike2help.ch ÔÇô Big Tree) finished in a time of 5:39.01,5, placing them in third position overall (11:53.34,3).

In the mixed category Yolande Speedy and Paul Cordes (MTN Business Qhubeka) finished in first place in a time of 4:44.23,8. They are now placed second (overall) in their category (10:07.24,0).

They were followed by yesterday’s category winners B├ñrti Bucher and Esther S├╝ss (Wheeler ÔÇô BIXS) in a time of 4:48.40,3 who retain the first place overall (10:03.38,2). Nico Pfitzenmaier and Sally Bigham of the Adidas Big Tree team again finished in third place (4:59.41,8) and remain in the same position overall (10:22.45,9).

In the masters category Cyclelab’s Shan Wilson and Andrew Mclean again took top honours in Stage 2 (4:40.49,7) giving them the overall lead in the Masters (9:51.32,0).

They were followed by the Big Tree Masters Team Corrie Muller and Robert Sim (5:02.03,3), who are now in third place overall (11:35.23,6). Adrian Enthoven and Gary Marescia (Cycle Lab Jag Foundation) finished in third place today in 5:05.26,5 and are placed second overall (10:41.28,0).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *