Stars sweat for glory | SASCOC - SASCOC

Stars sweat for glory

SA’s elite and youth squad swimmers are being put through their paces at the Swimming SA national training camp in Pinetown near Durban, in preparation for a hectic domestic and international 2010 aquatics season.

The senior swimmers are working towards posting qualifying performances at the Telkom SA National Championships in Durban (April 12-17) in order to stand a chance to represent SA at the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi (October 3-14).

The national senior team will also be in action in the annual Mare Nostrum series in Europe in June.

This year is a big year in youth swimming as well, and the national youth squad will be looking to impress the selectors at the Telkom SA Level 03 National Age Group Championships in East London (March 19-22) with the aim of landing places in the SA team to compete at the Youth Olympics in Singapore from August 14-26.

The swimmers at the camp are expected to receive a motivational boost when Olympic breaststroke legend Penny Heyns addresses the squad on Wednesday.

The swimming camp in Pinetown runs through until January 31, and those in attendance are:

Western Cape:
Abdul Railoun, Lyle Aloile, Doyle Finch, Victor Lemphane, Darren Murray, Heerden Herman, Neil de Villiers
Gauteng: Lyndon Ferns, Werner Bosman, Garth Tune, George du Rand, Cameron van der Burgh, Dirk Lambrechts, Hendrik Alberts, Pierre Kuene, Nico Meyer, Ricky Ellis, Kyle Duckitt, Neil Watson, Dylan Bosch, Jason Lawson, Frederik Smit
Eastern Cape: Frank Greeff, Giles Mayberry
KwaZulu-Natal: Wesley Gilchrist, Riaan Schoeman, Jay-Cee Thomson, Chad Ho, Chad le Clos, Charl van Zyl, Jasper Venter, Leith Shankland, Jayden Fourie, Marco Husselman, Brett Walsh, Murray McDougall

Western Cape:
Caitlin Gardiner, Jessica Ashley-Cooper, Peggy de Villiers, Dominique Dryding
Gauteng: Kayla Ferreira, Jeannie du Toit, Karen Prinsloo, Chanelle van Wyk, Oneida Cooper, Tarryn Mackenzie, Bianca Hauzer, Jo-Mari van Zyl, Natasha de Vos, Suanne de Wet, Vanessa Mohr, Suzaan van Biljon, Natalie du Toit
Eastern Cape: Jessica Liss, Keri Plumstead, Tasmynne Roe
KwaZulu-Natal: Kathryn Meaklim, Rene Warnes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *