Wolfaardt, Roberts tops | SASCOC - SASCOC

Wolfaardt, Roberts tops

It was business as usual for Erhardt Wolfaardt in the fifth leg of the BSB/Energade Triathlon Sprint Series as he edged out Hendrik De Villiers and Africa Cup Winner, Claude Eksteen at Bloubergstrand in Cape Town on Sunday.

In the women’s race though Kate Roberts took her winning form from the Africa Cup into the Series for her first win in five races.

No surprises who was out of the water first, as Henri Schoeman needed only 6min 52sec to cover the 750 metre swim. But once out of the water the big three took over again. A group of five consisting of Wikus Weber (7:31), Abrahm Louw (7:33), Erhardt Wolfaardt (7:33), Hendrik De Villiers (7:36) and Claude Eksteen (7:37) rushed out of the water together and then the big three, Wolfaardt, Eksteen and De Villiers, took over proceedings in the 20km cycle with Weber also in the mix.

It took them just under 29 minutes to cover the cycle (Eksteen 28:50; De Villiers 28:52; Wolfaardt 28:75 and Weber 28:59) and it all came down to the 5km run.

Unlike in Pretoria a week ago when the heat took its toll, Wolfaardt was in imperious form over the 5km run being the only athlete to dip 15 minutes (14:56) to cross the line in 51:28. De Villiers continues to get better and better, finishing 2nd (52:00) with Eksteen third in 52:14.

The women’s race saw Roberts overcome Andrea Steyn for the first time in five races after having to settle for runner-up four consecutive times.

Roberts as usual was first out of the water, needing only 8:37 for the 750m. Junior Lauren Dance was eight seconds back with Vicky van der Merwe third out of the water in 9:01. Then came Carla Germishuys with team mate in Andrea Steyn in 9:06 and 9:07 respectively.

Steyn’s strength has always been the bike and run legs, and this is where she would eat away at Roberts’ lead and as usual the race followed the script ÔÇô on the bike that is.

Steyn chased hard, needing 32:20 for the 20km cycle leg to the 32:52 of Roberts. That though is where the normal script ended. This time round, it was Roberts who was too strong on the run needing 17:23c for the 5km to Steyn’s 17:52.

Roberts went on to win her first BSG/Energade race of the 2009 series in 58.52. Steyn, after four consecutive victories, had to settle for second in 59:19. Third went to Vicky Van Der Merwe in exactly one hour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *