It's the Wolfaardt/Steyn show again! | SASCOC - SASCOC

It’s the Wolfaardt/Steyn show again!

In what is fast becoming a routine occurrence, both Andrea Steyn and Erhardt Wolfaardt won their third consecutive BSG/Energade Sprint triathlon at Roodeplaat Dam at the weekend.

Once again it was Henri Schoeman ÔÇô brother of swimmer Rian Schoeman ÔÇô showed his swimming pedigree by emerging out of the water in 7min 44sec for the 750m swim. Wolfaardt was next out in 8:11 with Hendrick De Villiers and Abrahm Louw close on his heels ÔÇô 8:16 and 8:17 respectively.

The three then worked together on the bike and quickly caught Schoeman on the 20km bike leg. Hitting the final 5km run together, there was always only going to be one winner with Wolfaardt’s strong running pedigree. The 26-year-old was unstoppable in the final 5km, averaging just under 3:30/km to clock 15:28 for an overall time of 52:57.

For the third time running Sander Berg had to be satisfied with the runner-up spot. His 28:50 for the 20km bike and 15:59 on the 5km run carving through the field, but not quite good enough yet to catch the flying Wolfaardt. Abrahm Louw was third for the second time and claimed the first junior prize for the for the third consecutive race.

The women’s race is becoming a two ÔÇ£manÔÇØ affair with Olympian Kate Roberts trying to get away on the swim and Andrea Steyn playing catch up on the bike. Many expected Kate to come up trumps this time round after a mere two seconds separated them in Potchefstroom a week ago.

As expected Roberts was out the water first with BSG/HPC team-mate Vicky van der Merwe. They covered the 750m swim in 9:44 and 9:45 respectively for a 25 second margin over Steyn.

Steyn though worked with Nestle Pure Life/Bar One team mate Carla Germishuys on the 20km bike leg to catch Roberts, Carlyn Fisher and Van der Merwe at the turn around on the 20km bike.

So again it came down to the run, and again Roberts and Steyn matched each other stride for stride. Steyn was able to make the decisive break with 400m to go, unlike last time where it was a sprint for the line.


Men        Swim        Bike        Run        Overall
Erhard Wolfaardt         08:11        29:18           15:28         52:57
Sander Berk            08:34        28:50           15:59         53:23
Abraham Louw         08:18            29:12           16:01         53:31

Women         Swim        Bike        Run        Overall
Andrea Steyn        10:11        33:18        18:08        1:01:37
Kate Roberts          9:44    33:35        18:23        1:01:43
Vicky Van Der Merwe      9:45    33:46        19:22        1:02:53

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *