Cameron chases title | SASCOC - SASCOC

Cameron chases title

Breaststroke world record-holder Cameron van der Burgh is set to be involved in a race of a different kind, with all of Jean Basson, Roland Schoeman, Darian Townsend, Sebastien Rousseau and Kathryn Meaklim joining him in the challenge to life the 2009 Aquatics ‘Swimmer of the Year’ award.

The honour of being crowned as SA’s leading swimmer will be one of several awards to be announced in Durban on Thursday, October 15 ÔÇô with the FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup starting at the Kings Park Aquatic Centre in the city the following day.

While Van der Burgh broke the 50 and 100 metres breaststroke world records on a regular basis last year, he also made his Olympic debut in Beijing. Basson also has good standing to be in the running having finished a credible fourth in the 400m freestyle final at the Beijing Olympics ÔÇô SA’s highest placed swimmer at the event.

Schoeman set a world best in the 50 metres butterfly at the Telkom SA Short Course Championships held in Germiston last year and was also a part of the Olympic team action, while another Olympian, Darian Townsend, collected six gold, five silver and two bronze medals during the 2008 FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup.

Cape Town-based Rousseau also had a year not to be forgotten, in representing SA at the FINA World Short Course Championships in Manchester, England as well as at the Olympics, and also collected the national 200m butterfly record.

At this year’s Telkom SA National Championships held in Durban in April, he posted A qualifying performances in the 200 metres butterfly and 200 metres individual medley, which booked his place in the SA team that competed at the FINA World Championships in Rome in July.

Another Durban Olympic swimmer in Kathryn Meaklim took her short course swimming to a new level during the 2008 FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup series, in collecting 18 gold, six silver and two bronze medals, earning sufficient points to end third overall on the women’s final standings. She also set a world record in the 400m individual medley (4:24.21) in the Stockholm leg of the series.

The Swimming SA selection panel will evaluate the nominees’ performances achieved during the period 1 May 2008 to 30 April 2009.

In the Water Polo Player of the Year section, the le Roux brothers, Etienne and Pierre, as well as SA national team captain Duncan Woods, are in the running for the honours, while Nicholas Pawley, and the Van der Sluys brothers, Marcus and Addy will contest the ‘Diver of the Year’ category.

One of Shannon Crowder Wendy Scoley and Kendra Semple will walk away with the ‘Synchronised swimmer of the Year’ award, while Natalie du Toit, Chad Ho and Melvin Nel have been nominated in the ‘Open Water Swimmer of the Year’ category.

Du Toit is also nominated along with Charl Bouwer, Kevin Paul, Shireen Sapiro and Dot Smit in the ‘Disabled Swimmer of the Year’ section.

The public will get their chance to have their say in the Aquatics ‘Personality of the Year’ award, which is being contested between Greg Gascoigne (water polo), and swimmers in Natalie du Toit, Cameron van der Burgh and Ryk Neethling. Swimming enthusiasts can vote online at with the voting closing on Friday, October 9 at 4pm.

Swimming SA CEO Shaun Adriaanse commented: ÔÇ£The period 2008 leading into 2009 saw a set of amazing performances achieved by SA’s swim stars and the national awards panel has been left with some difficult decisions as to who some of these awards will be handed to. As far as Swimming SA is concerned, all of our swimmers are winners and we must also thank the officials, volunteers and other unsung heroes of our sport who give of their time so freely to ensure a healthy aquatics environment in out sports-loving country. We are pleased to honour some of these individuals at the function in Durban on October 15 as well.ÔÇØ

Awards nominations:
1.       Development Club of the Year:

┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Atlantis Swimming Club
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Stingray Swimming Club
2.       Learn To Swim Instructor of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Bonny Harris
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Marsha Wessels
3.       Administrator of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Lorraine Deasy
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Werner Els
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Tony Ferguson
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Anton Jordaan
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Wayne Riddin
4.       Volunteer of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Tony Ferguson
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Manqoba Shongwe
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Willie Vorster
5.┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Coach of the Year ÔÇô Junior athletes:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Francois Boshoff
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Igor Omeltchenko
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Graham Hill
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cedric Finch
6.       Coach of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Peter Williams
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Francois Boshoff
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Theo Verster
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Dean Price
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Igor Omeltchenko
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Alisdair Hatfield
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Graham Kill
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Karoly von Toros
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Vlado Trninic
7.       Most promising athlete of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Chad le Clos
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Vanessa Mohr
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Darren Murray
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Sebastien Rousseau
8.       Water polo player of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Etienne le Roux
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Pierre le Roux
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Duncan Woods
9.       Diver of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Nicholas Pawley
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Marcus van der Sluys
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Addy van der Sluys
10.   Synchronised swimmer of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Shannon Crowder
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Wendy Scoley
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kendra Semple
11.   Open water swimmer of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Chad Ho
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Melvin Nel
12.   Swimmer of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Jean Basson
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kathryn Meaklim
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Sebatien Rousseau
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Roland Schoeman
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Darian Townsend
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cameron van der Burgh
13.   Disabled swimmer of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Bouwer
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du TOit
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kevin Paul
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Shireen Sapiro
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Dot Smit
14.   Aquatic personality of the Year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Greg Gascoigne
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cameron van der Burgh
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Ryk Neethling
15.   Best performance of the year:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Jean Basson
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cameron van der Burgh
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit
16.   Lifetime achievement award:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Frans Aldrich
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Lorraine Deasy
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Given Malope

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *