Team of 30 heads for Italy | SASCOC - SASCOC

Team of 30 heads for Italy

A 30-strong team will represent South Africa at next month’s IAAF World Youth Championships in Bressanone, Italy.

Athletics South Africa (ASA) has announced a team of 20 boys and 10 girls for the 8-12 July event.

The final team was selected after the Southern Region Youth Championships in Pretoria earlier this month where SA athletes dominated and easily topped the medals table with 27 medals out of a possible 43.

Included in the team are exciting young prospects that will form part of ASA’s development strategy for future major international championships as well as the 2012 Olympic Games in London.┬á The experience that they will gain at the World Youth Championships will be a solid foundation for their future in the sport.

The boys’ team boasts exciting sprinting talents in Richmond Collins, Gideon Trotter, Sean de Klerk and Mzwandile Qashani while in the field events athletes like Frans Schutte and Donovan Stebbing (shot put), Charl Grobler (discus), Dean Goosen (javelin) and Stefan Brits and Lionel Abrahams (long jump) can become the stars of the future.

In the girls’ team Anri Steyn and Justine Palframan already rank amongst the top 10 in the country over the 400m in the country and can hold their own against the best senior athletes.

Annemie Smith is an outstanding talent in the hammer, boasting the best distance in the country this season while Simone Meyer and Suriette Botha (discus) follow closely on the heels of Elizna Naude in the discus event this season.

Richmond Collins, 100m; Medley Relay (AGN); Gideon Trotter, 100m; Medley Relay (AFS); Sean de Klerk, 200m; Medley Relay (AFS) Mzwandile Qashani, 200m; Medley Relay  (BOL); Jacques de Swardt, 400m; Medley Relay (AGN); MC Kruger, 400m; Medley Relay (AVT); Michael van Aswegen, 800m (CGA); Werner Pretorius, 110mH (AGN); Layne Scheffers, 110mH (WPA) Lionel Abrahams, Long Jump (BOL); Stefan Brits, Long Jump (BOL); Frans Schutte, Shot Put and Discus (AMPU); Donovan Stebbing, Shot Put (AMPU); Charl Grobler, Discus (AFS); Dean Goosen, Javelin (AVT); Siyabonga Derison, 1500m (AFS); Tebogo Khanye, 1500m (KZNA); Olwethu Mhlaba, 2000m sc (CGA); Benjamin Molefe, 2000m sc (AFS); and Mfumaneko Fadane, 3000m (ATRA).

Justine Palframan, 200m, 400m; Medley Relay (KZNA); Anri Steyn, 400m; Medley Relay (CGA); Rikenette Steenkamp100mH; Medley Relay (AGN); Melissa Harmse 400mH; Medley Relay (AGN); Zanri van der Merwe, Long Jump; Medley Relay (AGN); Suriette Botha, Discus (AGN); Simone Meyer, Discus (KZNA); Annemie Smith, Hammer (ASWD); Masabata Matoane, 800m; Medley Relay (AGN); Happiness Mkhize, 800m; (KZNA)

Team management: Snowy Mathews (Head of Delegation); Molatelo Malehopo (Manager); Mohamed Ally (Sprints Coach); Simon Blangwe (Distances Coach); DP Badenhorst (Throws Coach); Margaret Selala (Jumps Coach); Godfrey Sepuru (Physiotherapist); Fikile Phasha (Physiotherapist); Dr. Theo Koen (Team Doctor); and Morgan Matholeni (Team Assistant).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *