Taine, Tarryn win | SASCOC - SASCOC

Taine, Tarryn win

Taine Paton and Tarryn Bright have been named 2011 SA Men’s and Women’s players of the Year respectively.

Playing for KZN Coastal Raiders as well as the national team, Paton is a compact, aggressive and skilful midfielder who has demonstrated an astonishing workrate in the engine room of the Raiders and SA teams.

He contributed to their success in lifting the South African Men’s Interprovincial and Africa Cup hockey titles this year. Paton, whose older brother Wade is also in the SA team, is contracted to a Belgian club, which has benefited his game.

Also a midfielder, Western Province and Investec South Africa player Bright has made an immense contribution in all respects at the heartbeat of her teams and has played no small part in bringing the national interprovincial and Africa Cup trophies to her province and country this year.

The quiet and unassuming Bright is contracted to a club in Holland and her experience under pressure adds much to Western Province and on the international stage for SA.

The SA Under-18 Girls’ Player of the Year award went to Sentraal, Bloemfontein schoolgirl Tanya Britz, a striker whose skill on the ball and ability to poach goals earned her selection for the Free State senior team as well as the Investec South Africa national team that participated in the Africa Cup. The ever-cheerful Britz joins SA superstar and world record goalscorer Pietie Coetzee as one of a select few who have made their national debuts while still at school.

The SA Under-18 Boys’ Player of the Year trophy went to schoolboy Grant Glutz, whose record-breaking goalscoring feats at Maritzburg College and outstanding performances in the strike zone for KZN Inland, and the South Africa U18 against the highly rated Australia Schoolboys touring team, has seen the powerful forward tipped by seasoned observers as a senior national player in the making. An exceptionally modest young man, Glutz has a remarkable work ethic.

The SA Under-21 Women’s Player of the Year award went to North West and Investec South Africa utility player Celia Evans, whose performances at club, provincial and national level have caught the eye, while Free State’s Jaco Fourie won the SA Under-21 Men’s Player of the Year trophy, an achievement in which his outstanding captaincy and skill in the province’s Under-21 side that took the underdogs all the way to the SA Under-21 Men’s IPT final in Durban, was a major factor in his recognition.


SA Players of the Year

SA Men’s Player of the Year: Taine Paton (John Marquard Trophy)
SA Women’s Player of the Year: Tarryn Bright (Ros Howell Trophy)
SA Under-18 Girls’ Player of the Year: Tanya Britz (Dave Carr Trophy)
SA Under-18 Boys’ Player of the Year: Grant Glutz (Peter Vieyra Trophy)
SA Under-21 Women’s Player of the Year: Celia Evans (Sheila Brown Trophy)
SA Under-21 Men’s Player of the Year: Jaco Fourie (Lennie Botha Trophy)

Special Achievement Awards
Southern Gauteng and Investec SA striker Pietie Coetzee (world record goalscorer ÔÇô 225 goals in 227 Test matches)
Western Province-based Marelize de Klerk (first official ever to umpire 200 Test matches)

Media Awards
Photographer of the Year: Deaan Vivier (foto24)
Media (English): Nick Gordon (Citizen)
Media (Afrikaans): Johann de Jager (Volksblad/sport24)

Coach of the Year: Western Province’s Wayne Denne (Steve and Linda Jaspan Trophy)
Malik Umpire of the Year: Western Province-based Marelize de Klerk
Service to Umpiring: Pretoria-based John Wright (Stewart McIldowie Trophy)
Technical Official of the Year: Durban-based Clive McMurray (Paul Richards Trophy)
Hockey Person of the Year: Pietermaritzburg-based Gary Carson (Dave and Helen Metter Award)

President’s Awards for Service to Hockey
Colin Bartle, Lennie Botha, Sheila Brown, Maud Burgess, Wendell Domingo, Janet Edwards, Paul Hendricks, Ian Leach, Dennis Perkins, Trynie Roberts, Mark Rushby, Di Schroder, Noreen Wonnacott, Westy Yon